skip to content
ISINBAEVA Yelena
ISINBAEVA Yelena

Yelena ISINBAEVA

  • O 2
  • A 0
  • B 1

La Tsarine

Yelena Isinbaeva, double championne olympique, est la grande dame de la perche féminine. Elle a porté sa discipline vers des territoires inconnus en devenant la première à dépasser les 5m.

Un moment de grâce

C’est un des moments forts des Jeux Olympiques de Beijing 2008. Le lundi 18 août, les 91.000 spectateurs du Stade National vibrent aux exploits de Yelena Isinbaeva. La championne russe, tenante du titre du saut à la perche féminin depuis sa victoire en 2004 à Athènes, s’assure à nouveau la victoire en étant la seule à franchir 4,85m. Mais cela ne lui suffit pas. Elle commence par réussir 4,95m pour améliorer son record olympique, puis demande à ce que la barre soit placée à 5,05m pour tenter de battre son record du monde. Restée la seule athlète en compétition dans le nid d’oiseau, alors que le programme de la soirée est achevé, Isinbaeva est accompagnée dans son effort par le public massé dans les gradins, et atteint son but à sa 3e tentative, seule sous les projecteurs dans un fracas d'applaudissements. Submergée par l’émotion, elle éclate en sanglots sur le podium.

Pionnière de la perche féminine

Yelena fait partie des pionnières du saut à la perche féminin, entré au programme des Jeux Olympiques à Sydney en 2000. Née le 3 juin 1982 à Volgograd,  elle se consacre tout d’abord à la gymnastique artistique mais grandit trop vite et se tourne dès ses 15 ans vers la discipline qui va la faire star.  Sa progression est fulgurante chez les juniors mais on n’a encore rien vu. Le 13 juillet 2003 à Gateshead, elle bat son premier record du monde en franchissant 4,82m, avant de s’avancer vers des territoires inconnus. Elle remporte son premier titre olympique à Athènes en 2004 avec une nouvelle marque mondiale à 4,91m, puis devient un an plus tard la première femme à franchir la barre symbolique des 5m. En tout, Yelena Isinbaeva améliore 17 fois le record du monde pour le porter à 5,06m à Zurich le 28 août 2009. Elle est entre temps double championne olympique, deux fois championne du monde et double gagnante de la Golden League IAAF, élue athlète de l’année en 2004, 2005 et 2008 et honorée par le Laureus de la meilleure sportive mondiale en 2007 et 2009.

Une pause avant de repartir vers les sommets

Après une pause dans sa carrière en 2010 et 2011, Yelena Isinbaeva revient pour améliorer son record du monde en salle (5,01m à Donetsk le 23 février 2012), puis pour prendre la médaille de bronze au Jeux de Londres 2012, un résultat qu’elle considère comme une victoire et qui l’encourage à poursuivre sa carrière vers les Mondiaux de Moscou 2013. La Tsarine de la perche n’a pas fini d’enthousiasmer les foules.

Plus

Galerie


Résultats



back to top

skip to content
ISINBAEVA Yelena
ISINBAEVA Yelena

Yelena ISINBAEVA

  • G 2
  • S 0
  • B 1

The pole vault queen

Double Olympic champion Elena Isinbaeva is the undisputed ‘first lady’ of the pole vault. As the first female to clear 5m, the Russian has taken her discipline into previously uncharted territory.

Brilliant in Beijing

It was one of the standout moments of the 2008 Olympic Games. As the sun set on Monday 18 August, 91,000 athletics fans in Beijing’s National Stadium were on the edge of their seats, transfixed by the exploits of Elena Isinbaeva. With a vault of 4.85m, the Russian successfully defended the Olympic title she won at Athens 2004. By that stage she was the only vaulter left in the competition, but she was far from finished. First, she cleared 4.95m to break her own Olympic record, and then asked for the bar to be raised yet again, this time to 5.05m, as she launched a tilt at her world record. With the rest of the evening’s programme at the Bird’s Nest already completed, all eyes were on Isinbaeva, and the entire stadium cheered her on in unison. At the third time of asking, she went clear at 5.05m. The crowd erupted into a symphony of applause, and under the glare of the spotlight, Isinbaeva, overcome by the emotion of the moment, burst into tears on the podium.

Pole vault pioneer

Born on 3 June 1982 in the city of Volgograd, Isinbaeva originally trained to be a gymnast, but was soon too tall, and at 15 she refocused her energies on the discipline which would make her a superstar. She made remarkable progress at junior level, but that was just the start. When the women’s pole vault took its Olympic bow at the 2000 Games in Sydney Isinbaeva was one of the trailblazers. Then, on 13 July 2003 in Gateshead (GBR), she broke the world record for the first time, with a vault of 4.82m. From there she embarked on a journey into uncharted territory. She claimed her first Olympic title in Athens in 2004 with another new world record of 4.91m, and a year later became the first female vaulter to break the 5m barrier. In total, Isinbaeva has improved the world record an incredible 17 times over the years, setting the current outdoor record of 5.06m in Zurich on 28 August 2009. During the same time, she has claimed two Olympic gold medals and two World Championship titles and has won the IAAF Golden League on two occasions. She was voted IAAF female athlete of the year in 2004, 2005 and 2008, and was also named Laureus World Sportswoman of the Year in 2007 and 2009.

Return to the summit

After taking time out from athletics in 2010 and 2011, Isinbaeva returned refreshed to improve on her own indoor world record, clearing 5.01m in Donetsk (UKR) on 23 February 2012. She went on to claim an Olympic bronze medal at London 2012, a result that she regarded as a victory.

More


Gallery

Image Alt Text

Full flex for Isinbaeva

London 2012 - Elena Isinbaeva fills the launch area with the full arc of her fibreglass pole. The returning gold medalist from Russia was expected to repeat in London, but finishes with the bronze medal in women’s pole vault.
IOC/Jason Evans
play
https://olympic-vh.akamaihd.net/i/Assets/MediaPlayer/Videos/Streaming/2010/07-2010 July/yog/yelena/Yelena_30sec_English_IOC HD_,0200,0400,0600,1200,1800,.mp4.csmil/master.m3u8

30 seconds with Yelena Isinbayeva

To mark 30 days to go, we caught up with our Ambassador Yelena Isinbayeva on how it feels to be involved with the Youth Olympic Games.
Image Alt Text

PKM08160870Kishimoto160808

Yelena Isinbayeva, Russia - Beijing 2008 - Athlétisme, Saut à la perche Crédit : Kishimoto
IOC/Tsuyoshi Kishimoto
Image Alt Text

82404467

Yelena Isinbayeva, Russia - Beijing 2008 - Athlétisme, Saut à la perche Crédit : Getty Images
Getty Images
Image Alt Text

PKM08160891Kishimoto160808

Yelena Isinbayeva, Russia - Beijing 2008 - Athlétisme, Saut à la perche Crédit : Kishimoto
IOC/Tsuyoshi Kishimoto
Image Alt Text

82460579

Yelena Isinbayeva, Russia - Beijing 2008 - Athlétisme, Saut à la perche Crédit : Getty Images
Getty Images
More

Results


back to top Fr