skip to content
BELMONDO Stefania
BELMONDO Stefania

Stefania BELMONDO

  • O 2
  • A 3
  • B 5

Pour le rude sport du ski de fond, Belmondo, 47 kg, était de stature plutôt modeste.

Elle n’en devint pas moins l’une des skieuses les plus couronnées de succès de l’histoire.

Endurance

Ce qui distingua Stefania Belmondo ne fut pas seulement son endurance mais la consistance de ses performances sur la longue durée. Elle prit part à cinq éditions des Jeux Olympiques et remporta deux médailles d’or, trois d’argent et cinq de bronze.

Héroïne locale

En Italie, Belmondo était une héroïne. La moitié de son village de  Pontebernardo (peuplé de 160 personnes) se rendit en France pour la soutenir lors des Jeux d’hiver de 1992 à Albertville. Elle termina cinquième, quatrième, deuxième puis troisième et, dans la finale du cross de 30 km, décrocha l’or.

Fin de partie

Elle fit un retour aux Jeux d’hiver de 1994 à Lillehammer, après une sérieuse blessure. Elle rafla deux médailles de bronze, ce qui d’après le standard qu’elle s’était fixé représenta une déception, et comme elle ne prévoyait pas de concourir de nouveau pour des grandes récompenses, on lui conseilla de se retirer. Ceci l’amena à faire une coupure de trois ans avec son sport.

Une gamine de retour

De manière typique pour elle, Belmondo, refusa d’abandonner et prit d’assaut le sommet en remportant deux médailles d’or aux Championnats du monde 1999. Puis, dix ans après avoir gagné sa première médaille d’or, elle dit adieu à la compétition aux Jeux de 2002 à Salt Lake City en remportant l’or du 15 km.

Plus

Galerie


Résultats

  • Jeux
    Résultat
    Sport
    Epreuves
  • A 01:31:01.600
    Ski
    30km femmes
    B 00:28:45.800
    Ski
    10km femmes
    O 00:39:54.400
    Ski
    15km départ groupé femmes
  • B 56:53.3
    Ski
    Relais 4x5km femmes
    A 1:22:11.7
    Ski
    30km femmes
  • B 58:42.6
    Ski
    Relais 4x5km femmes
    B 42:21.1
    Ski
    Combiné 5km + 10km poursuite femmes
  • B 1:00:25.9
    Ski
    Relais 4x5km femmes
    O 1:22:30.1
    Ski
    30km femmes
    A 40:31.8
    Ski
    Combiné 5km + 10km poursuite femmes


back to top

skip to content
BELMONDO Stefania
BELMONDO Stefania

Stefania BELMONDO

  • G 2
  • S 3
  • B 5

For the rugged sport of cross-country skiing, Belmondo was of relatively small stature, weighing 47kg.

Despite this, she still became one of the most successful skiers ever.

Endurance

What made Stefania Belmondo stand out was not just her endurance on the course, but her consistently outstanding performance over a long period of time. She competed in five Olympic Games, winning two golds, three silver and five bronze medals

Local hero

Belmondo was a hero back in Italy. Half of her home village of Pontebernardo (population 160) travelled to France to support her in the 1992 Albertville Olympic Winter Games. She finished fifth, fourth, second then third. Then in the final women's cross-country event, the 30km, she struck gold.

Game over

She made a return from serious injury at the 1994 Lillehammer Winter Games. Two bronze medals were, by her standards, a disappointment, and since she was not expected to compete for major honours anymore, she was advised to retire. This caused Belmondo to take a three-year break from the sport.

Comeback kid

Typically for Belmondo, she refused to give up and stormed back to the top by winning two golds at the 1999 World Championships. Then, 10 years after winning her first gold, she said farewell at the 2002 Salt Lake City Winter Games with gold in the 15km event. 

More

Gallery


Results

  • Games
    Result
    Sport
    Event
  • S 01:31:01.600
    Skiing
    30km women
    B 00:28:45.800
    Skiing
    10km women
    G 00:39:54.400
    Skiing
    15km mass start women
  • S 1:22:11.7
    Skiing
    30km women
    B 56:53.3
    Skiing
    Relay 4x5km women
  • B 58:42.6
    Skiing
    Relay 4x5km women
    B 42:21.1
    Skiing
    Combined 5km + 10km pursuit women
  • B 1:00:25.9
    Skiing
    Relay 4x5km women
    G 1:22:30.1
    Skiing
    30km women
    S 40:31.8
    Skiing
    Combined 5km + 10km pursuit women


back to top