skip to content

Displaying 101-110 of 140
  • News | Sochi 2014

    Blade runners: the Dutch recipe for speed skating success

    With two podium clean sweeps on the long track at the Adler Arena (in the men’s 5,000m and 500 m) and a medal count that had already hit double figures by Day 6 (12 out of a possible 18), the Netherlands’ supremacy in the speed skating at Sochi 2014 has been hard to ignore.
    14 Feb 2014 | Sochi 2014, Olympic News, Netherlands, Speed Skating
  • News | Olympic News

    World leaders attend first ever IOC President’s Dinner

    International Olympic Committee (IOC) President Thomas Bach tonight welcomed international leaders from the world of politics, business, media, science, culture and sport to the inaugural IOC President’s Dinner on the eve of the Opening Ceremony for the Sochi 2014 Olympic Winter Games.
    06 Feb 2014 | Olympic News, Press Release
  • News | Olympic News

    IOC announces composition of Tokyo 2020 and Buenos Aires 2018 Coordination Commissions

    International Olympic Committee (IOC) President Thomas Bach has appointed IOC Vice-President John Coates as Chairman of the Coordination Commission for the Games of the XXXII Olympiad ­- Tokyo 2020; and Frank Fredericks as Chairman of the Coordination Commission for the 3rd Summer Youth Olympic Games - Buenos Aires 2018.
    16 Oct 2013 | Olympic News, Press Release
  • News | YOG

    From Young Ambassador to youngest IOC member

    Already an Olympic medallist in shooting, 28 year-old Danka Barteková has just added another string to her bow. Following her role as a Young Ambassador at the first-ever Summer Youth Olympic Games in Singapore in 2010, and a bronze medal at the London 2012 Olympic Summer Games, the Slovakian shooter is, since last week, the current youngest International Olympic Committee (IOC) member.
    12 Jul 2013 | YOG, Olympic News
  • News | Olympic News

    Four Olympians Become IOC Members

    Today, the number of IOC members increased to 104 with the election and swearing in of the four athletes elected by their peers to the IOC Athletes’ Commission during London 2012: Danka Bartekova from Slovakia (shooting), James Tomkins from Australia (rowing), Kirsty Coventry from Zimbabwe (aquatics) and Tony Estanguet from France (canoe-kayak).
    03 Jul 2013 | Olympic News
back to top Fr