skip to content
VAN DEN HOOGENBAND Pieter
VAN DEN HOOGENBAND Pieter

Pieter VAN DEN HOOGENBAND

  • O 3
  • A 2
  • B 2

Le Néerlandais volant

Après les Américains Duke Kahanamoku (1912-1920), Johnny Weissmuller (1924-1928) et le Russe Alexander Popov (1992-1996), Pieter Van Den Hoogenband est le 4e nageur à avoir réalisé un doublé olympique sur 100m nage libre.

Premier coup d’éclat en 1999

Né dans une famille sportive (sa mère Astrid fut médaillée européenne sur 800m nage libre, son père Cees-Rein est le médecin du club de football du PSV Eindhoven) Pieter Van Den Hoogenband dispute à 18 ans ses premiers Jeux Olympiques avec l’équipe des Pays-Bas à Atlanta où il va au delà des attentes de ses entraîneurs en se classant 4e dans les finales des 100m et 200m nage libre. Mais c’est à Istanbul, lors des championnats d’Europe 1999 qu’il éclate au plus haut niveau international en remportant six médailles d’or : 50m nage libre et papillon, 100m et 200m nage libre, 4x100m nage libre et quatre nages.

Devant Ian Thorpe à Sydney

Lors des Jeux de Sydney 2000, Dans la piscine en fusion de Homebush Bay, le public rugit quotidiennement pour saluer les exploits des nageurs australiens, mais «VDH» va s’appliquer à leur voler la vedette. Particulièrement sur 200m nage libre, où il commence par améliorer le record du monde de Ian Thorpe en demi-finale (1.45.35) puis devance la grande vedette locale lors de la finale en réalisant le même chrono au centième près. Deux jours plus tard, le 19 septembre 2000, il est le premier nageur de l’histoire à descendre sous les 48 secondes sur 100m nage libre en battant un nouveau record du monde (47.84) en demi-finale, avant de remporter sa 2e médaille d’or devant le Russe Alexander Popov. Pieter Van Den Hoogenband n’est que le 3e nageur après l’Australien Michael Wenden en 1968 et l’Américain Mark Spitz en 1972 à gagner le 100m et le 200m lors des mêmes Jeux.

Toujours au sommet à Athènes

Pieter Van Den Hoogenband n’a jamais gagné l’or dans les championnats du monde, accumulant huit médailles d’argent et deux de bronze sur 50m, 100m, 200m et relais 4x100m entre 1998 et 2007. Mais son record du monde du 100m tiendra durant huit ans et il restera le seul nageur à avoir devancé deux fois l’Américain Michael Phelps, lors des Jeux d’Athènes 2004, en achevant le relais 4x100m des Pays-Bas en 46.79 pour remporter l’argent devant les USA, et en prenant à nouveau l’argent sur 200m, laissant le bronze à la star américaine. Il signe toutefois son chef d’oeuvre le 18 août en conservant son titre olympique du 100m en 48.17 devant le Sud-Africain Roland Schoeman et sa vieille connaissance Ian Thope.

Les adieux à Beijing

VDH est encore présent à Beijing en 2008, parvient en finale du 100m pour devenir le premier athlète de l’histoire à en avoir disputé quatre de suite aux Jeux Olympiques, se classe 5e et prend sa retraite sportive dans la foulée avec un palmarès qui fait de lui un des plus grands nageurs néerlandais.

Plus


Galerie


Résultats

  • Jeux
    Résultat
    Sport
    Epreuves
  • A 1:45.23
    Natation
    200m nage libre hommes
    O 48.17
    Natation
    100m nage libre hommes
    A 3:14.36
    Natation
    relais 4x100m nage libre hommes
  • B 22.03
    Natation
    50m nage libre hommes
    O 01:45.35
    Natation
    200m nage libre hommes
    O 48.30
    Natation
    100m nage libre hommes
    B 07:12.70
    Natation
    relais 4x200m nage libre hommes

back to top En

skip to content
VAN DEN HOOGENBAND Pieter
VAN DEN HOOGENBAND Pieter

Pieter VAN DEN HOOGENBAND

  • G 3
  • S 2
  • B 2

The flying Dutchman

Pieter van den Hoogenband is only the fourth swimmer in history to secure gold in the 100m freestyle at two different editions of the Olympic Games, equalling the exploits of Duke Kahanamoku (1912-1920), Johnny Weissmuller (1924-1928) and Alexander Popov (1992-1996).

Olympic debut in Atlanta

Born into a sporting family (his mother, Astrid, won an 800m freestyle medal at the European Junior Championships, while his father, Cees-Rein, is the PSV Eindhoven club doctor) Pieter van den Hoogenband took his Olympic bow at Atlanta 1996, where he exceeded the expectations of his coaches by finishing fourth in the 100m and 200m freestyle finals. But it was in Istanbul, at the 1999 European Championships, that he truly announced his arrival on the international scene, winning a total of six gold medals in the 50m freestyle and butterfly, the 100m and 200m butterfly, the 100m and 200m freestyle, and the 4x100m freestyle and medley relays.

Torpedoing Thorpe in Sydney

During the 2000 Olympic Games in Sydney, Australian fans at the International Aquatic Centre in Homebush Bay rose to cheer the feats of the host nation's swimming team on a daily basis; but “VDH” was intent on gatecrashing the party. He had particularly high hopes in the 200m freestyle, laying down a marker in the semi-final by beating Ian Thorpe’s world record with a time of 1:45.35, and then producing a replica performance in the final to beat the local favourite to the finish and claim gold. Two days later, on 19 September 2000, he set another world record (47.84) in the 100m freestyle semi-final, and in so doing became the first swimmer to break the 48-second barrier. In the final, even the mighty Russian, Alexander Popov, was powerless to prevent van den Hoogenband from capturing a second gold, as the Dutchman became only the third swimmer – after Michael Wenden (AUS) in 1968 and Mark Spitz (USA) in 1972 – to win the 100m and 200m freestyle at the same Games.

Pipping Phelps in Athens

Curiously, van den Hoogenband never won a world championship gold, instead collecting eight silvers and two bronze medals in the 50m, 100m, 200m and 4x100m relay between 1998 and 2007. He did though set a 100m world record that remained unbeaten for eight years. He also remains the only swimmer to twice finish ahead of Michael Phelps in Olympic competition, both times at Athens 2004: he claimed second place in the 200m, relegating the all-conquering American to third, and produced an astonishing anchor leg of 46.79 to help the Netherlands take silver in the 4x100m relay, ahead of the USA. On 18 August, he sealed his place in swimming history by successfully defending his Olympic 100m title, recording a time of 48.17 to overcome South Africa’s Roland Schoeman and his old rival Ian Thorpe.

Final fling in Beijing

Van den Hoogenband was back in the Olympic pool at Beijing 2008, reaching the final of the 100m to become the first swimmer to do so at four successive editions of the Games. After finishing fifth, the Dutchman announced his decision to retire from the pool, having firmly established himself in the pantheon of swimming greats.

More


Gallery


Results

  • Games
    Result
    Sport
    Event
  • S 1:45.23
    Aquatics
    200m freestyle men
    G 48.17
    Aquatics
    100m freestyle men
    S 3:14.36
    Aquatics
    4x100m freestyle relay men
  • B 22.03
    Aquatics
    50m freestyle men
    G 01:45.35
    Aquatics
    200m freestyle men
    G 48.30
    Aquatics
    100m freestyle men
    B 07:12.70
    Aquatics
    4x200m freestyle relay men

back to top Fr