skip to content
05 Mar 2007
IOC News , Women in Sport

Women on the starting blocks: IOC Women and Sport Award on 8 March in Lausanne

On 8 March in Lausanne, the International Olympic Committee (IOC) will join in the world’s celebration of International Women’s Day, revealing the winners of the 2007 IOC Women and Sport Award. IOC President Jacques Rogge will thus announce the six recipients, one for each continent and one at world level, at the Olympic Museum. Each of them has made outstanding achievements in encouraging, promoting and developing the participation of women and girls at all levels in the sporting world. The World Trophy 2006 went to the world renowned tennis player Gabriela Sabatini in acknowledgement of her work to opening up the tennis world for youngsters in her home-country of Argentina.
Dozens of applications and different backgrounds
Since 2000 the winners have been selected annually by the IOC Women and Sport Commission, chaired by IOC member Anita L. DeFrantz. This year the Commission faced the challenge of assessing the most outstanding achievements out of 65 applications from all over the world. The trophy may be awarded to an individual, an institution or an organization. Previous winners reflect all different age groups and backgrounds – be it political decision-makers, former Olympic champions or pioneers at grassroots level.
Learn more about the promotion of women and sport
 IOC Women and Sport Commission
 Media information
back to top