skip to content

Two active athletes elected as IOC members

27 Feb 2010
Olympic News
Two active athletes who competed in the Vancouver Olympic Games, Adam Pengilly from Great Britain (bobsleigh / skeleton) and Angela Marie Ruggiero from the USA (ice hockey), have been officially elected as IOC members for a term of eight years in Vancouver today. The voting took place at the conclusion of the 122nd IOC Session on the last day of the Games.

Elected by peers

Pengilly and Ruggiero are new members of the IOC Athletes’ Commission, to which they were elected by their peers during the Games. Some 1,965 athletes – 75.3 per cent of all eligible voters - chose from among nine candidates from as many countries. Pengilly and Ruggiero will be officially introduced to the public at tonight’s Closing Ceremony of the Vancouver 2010 Olympic Winter Games.

2 honorary members

The Session also elected Manuela Di Centa and Kipchoge Keino, both Olympic champions, as honorary members. Manuela Di Centa, an IOC member since 1999 and elected to the Athletes’ Commission at the Games in Salt Lake City in 2002, has come to the end of her term of office. She will become an IOC honorary member as of 1 March 2010. Kipchoge Keino has been an IOC member for 10 years, and his term of office will expire at the end of 2010 due to the rules concerning age limits. He will become an honorary member from 1 January 2011.

back to top Fr