skip to content
15 Mar 2004
IOC News

Twelve Teams for the Men's Hockey Tournament in Athens Known

In order to complete the 12-team line-up in Athens, the International Hockey Federation (FIH) held the Men’s Olympic Qualifying Tournament in Madrid. Played over 11 days and comprising 12 teams, the final seven qualifiers were: the Netherlands, Spain, Pakistan, India, Great Britain, New Zealand and South Africa. The unlucky runners-up were Belgium, Poland, Malaysia, Canada and Japan. The South Africans assured their seventh place finish by beating Belgium in a dramatic penalty stroke competition on the final day of play.

Five continental champions already qualified
These seven teams will join the continental champions at the Games in Athens. Africa will be represented by Egypt, which triumphed at the 8th All Africa Games last year. Asia’s qualifier was South Korea, which took first place at the 14th Asian Games. In Europe, Germany’s victory at the 9th European Nations Cup saw them avoid the need to play in Madrid, as did Australia, which triumphed in the 3rd Oceania Cups competition. Finally, Argentina completed the initial qualification by winning the 14th Pan American Games.

South Africa still in doubt
South Africa will still have to wait until the Court of Arbitration for Sport decides whether or not to accept the Hellenic Hockey Federation’s appeal against their elimination from the Athens Games. This appeal concerns the Greek team’s qualification for the Athens Games. Only then will the South African team be able to book their flights to the Greek capital in August.

At the Olympic Hockey Centre in the Helliniko Olympic Complex
Hockey will be staged on two different pitches at the Olympic Hockey Centre in the Helliniko Olympic Complex. The competition will be held over 14 days, from 14 to 27 August. A total of 352 athletes (12 men’s teams and 10 women’s teams) will take part in the 2004 Olympic Games competition.

Learn more on Hockey

Official website of Athens 2004
Tags IOC News
back to top