skip to content
16 Feb 2005
Olympic News

Turin 2006: Final Three Qualifiers Known For Men’s Olympic Hockey Tournament

Switzerland, Latvia and Kazakhstan are the nations that have taken the last three places available for next year’s men’s Olympic ice hockey tournament in Turin, Italy. Finishing first in their respective qualifying tournaments, these three nations will now go on to join the cream of world ice hockey, in what promises to be a closely fought Olympic championship.

The Road To Turin
Both Switzerland and Latvia won their tickets to the Games by going undefeated in their respective qualifying groups - both of which were held on home soil. While Switzerland qualified comfortably by beating Denmark 4-2 in their final match, the Latvians had to score three goals in the last five minutes to come from behind to beat Belarus 5-4. Kazakhstan created the upset of the qualifications by beating France 1-0 in their final game to come-out group winners with two wins and one defeat. Home nation Austria lost 3-4 to the Ukraine in their last Game and thus lost out to the Kazakhs on points.

The Final Groups For Turin 2006
These results now mean that Switzerland will play in Olympic Preliminary Group A with Canada, the Czech Republic, Finland, Germany and Italy. Latvia and Kazakhstan, on the other hand, will face-off in Olympic Preliminary Group B against Sweden, Slovakia, the USA and Russia. These groups will be played in the Torino Esposizioni and the Torino Olympic Palasport arenas.

Ice hockey at Turin 2006
The Turin 2006 ice hockey tournaments will take place over 15 days of competition. The women’s tournament will run from 11 to 20 February 2006, and the men’s competition from 15 to 26 February 2006. Around 436 ice hockey players are expected to participate in the Games in Turin.

Learn more on Turin 2006
Official website of Turin 2006
back to top Fr