skip to content
09 Feb 2005
Olympic News

Turin 2006: Final Three Men’s Hockey Places Up For Grabs

The final three places at next year’s men’s Olympic ice hockey tournament in Turin will be decided at the end of this week - 10 to 13 February 2005. Three qualification tournaments will take place in Kloten, Switzerland, Klagenfurt, Austria and Riga, Latvia. Four teams will contest each tournament with the winner of each tournament qualifying for the XX Olympic Winter Games in Turin in 2006.

Make-up of the groups
The group that will play in Kloten, Switzerland, will consist of hosts Switzerland, Denmark, Japan and Norway. The Riga group is made-up of Latvia, Belarus, Slovenia and Poland. Finally, Austria will play host to the Ukraine, Kazakhstan and France in Klagenfurt.

Olympic qualification system
The top eight teams in the IIHF rankings qualify automatically for the Games, as does host nation Italy. These final three qualification tournaments will pit the teams ranked between nine and 21 in the IIHF rankings against each other for the chance to play in the Games. The three winning teams will then be seeded according to their IIHF rankings. This means that the highest ranked nation of the three will join Canada, the Czech Republic, Finland, Germany and Italy in Group A, while the other two qualifiers will join Sweden, Slovakia, the USA and Russia in Group B.

Ice hockey in Turin
The Turin 2006 ice hockey tournaments will take place over 15 days of competition. The women’s tournament will run from 11 to 20 February 2006, and the men’s competition from 15 to 26 February 2006. The matches in these two competitions will take place at the Palasport Olimpico and the Torino Esposizioni. Around 436 ice hockey players are expected to be playing at the Games in Turin.

Learn more on Ice Hockey
Learn more on Turin 2006

back to top Fr