skip to content
27 Mar 2014
IOC News

Tokyo 2020 Executive Board composition finalised

The composition of the Tokyo 2020 Organising Committee’s Executive Board has been finalised, with the appointment of six Vice-Presidents, a Director General and three Senior Executive Board members.

All 34 members of the Executive Board met this week to finalise the new positions, with the Chairman of the Keidanren Committee on Promotion of Sports Akio Toyoda; Japan Sport Council President Ichiro Kono; IOC Member and Japanese Olympic Committee President Tsunekazu Takeda; Tokyo Vice-Governor Toshiyuki Akiyama; Japan Paralympic Committee Vice-President Yasushi Yamawaki; and Yoshitaka Sakurada, Japan’s Minister in charge of sports, all appointed as Vice-Presidents.

Toshiro Muto was named Director General of the Organising Committee, while Yukihiko Nunomura, Hirobumi Kawano, and Hiroshi Sata were all named Senior Executive Board Members.

“Today's meeting of the Executive Board enabled us to get off to the ideal start as the highest decision-making body of the Organising Committee,” said Tokyo 2020 President Yoshiro Mori. “The Tokyo 2020 Olympic Games will serve as an exciting new target for the young people of Japan to strive towards, and will provide a major boost for the whole of society. All members of our ‘All Japan’ Executive Board are firmly committed and looking forward to exerting their utmost efforts to ensure the resounding success of the Games.” 

Tags IOC News
back to top