skip to content
17 Mar 2004
IOC News

Three More Qualifiers For Women's Olympic Football Tournament

The USA, Mexico and Australia have all obtained their tickets to Athens for this summer's Olympic Games. This means that seven of the ten teams that will participate at the Games in Athens are now known.

UEFA, CONCACAF, CONEMBOL and OCEANIA qualifications completed
The seven teams that are currently assured of a place in Athens are: Germany, Sweden, Greece, Brazil, USA, Mexico and Australia. The remaining three teams will be comprised of two qualifiers from the Asian Football Confederation (AFC) and either Nigeria or South Africa from the African confederation, CAF.

Athens 2004 Format
The Women’s Football Tournament in Athens will run from 11 to 28 August 2004 in five venues: Heraklion, Patras, Thessaloniki, Volos and Athens. The women's tournament will be played over four rounds (preliminary group stage, quarter-finals, semi-finals, finals) with the final being played in Athens.

Full International Teams and new qualifications system
In previous years, the women's teams at the Olympic Games were selected by their performances at the FIFA Women's World Cup and placed into groups along with the host nation. This year's qualification system marks a change in this process with the teams now playing Olympic qualification tournaments instead of relying on their FIFA World Cup positions. The women's tournament is also disputed by the full national teams of each country, unlike the men's tournament, which is played by the countries U-23 teams.

Previous winners
The first Women's tournament at an Olympic Games was in Atlanta in 1996. The United Sates won that tournament on home soil but they were unseated four years later by Norway, who took the Gold at Sydney 2000.

Learn more on Football

Official website of the International Football Association

Official website of Athens 2004
Tags IOC News
back to top