skip to content
03 Jul 2005
IOC News , 117th Session

Three days to go: vote for 2012

On 6 July in Singapore, IOC members will elect the host city for the Games of the XXX Olympiad in 2012. The vote will be a secret ballot. The electoral proceedings take place in a room in which only the IOC members and those persons authorised by the President by reason of their functions are present.
Electronic vote
A vote in favour of a city is cast electronically. In each round, each participating IOC member may vote for only one city. The votes of members not taking part in a round of voting or who abstain, as well as blank or spoilt electronic voting entries, are not taken into account in the calculation of the required majority.
Absolute majority
If, after the first round of voting, no city obtains the absolute majority of the votes cast, as many rounds are held as necessary for a city to obtain such majority. The city receiving the least number of votes is eliminated after each round. The name of the city is made public straight away and the vote continues. If only two cities remain in contention, the one that obtains the greatest number of votes is declared elected.
99 members out of 116 in the first round
The IOC President has chosen not to take part in the vote. The IOC members from countries putting forward a Candidate City cannot participate in the vote. For 2012, these are:
Number of IOC members: 116*
* The final number of participants will be communicated at the time of the vote

Not voting in the first round:
The IOC President                                             
Two members from France                                
- Jean-Claude Killy        
- Henri Sérandour
Three members from the USA                           
- Anita L. DeFrantz
- James L. Easton
- Robert Ctvrtlik
Three members from the Russian Federation       
- Vitaly Smirnov
- Shamil Tarpischev
- Alexander Popov
Three members from Great Britain                      
- HRH The Princess Royal
- Craig Reedie
- Phil Craven
Two members from Spain                      
- HRH The Infanta Doña Pilar de Borbón
- Juan Antonio Samaranch Jr
One member who is deprived of his rights, prerogatives and functions
The following IOC members have been excused: Guy Drut, Nikos Filaretos
Maximum number of members able to Vote in the first round: 99

Essential Facts and Figures

Learn more on the 117th IOC Session

back to top