skip to content
08 Mar 2005
IOC News

The world “Women and Sport” trophy is awarded to Gianna Angelopoulos-Daskalaki

The IOC’s World “Women and Sport” Trophy 2005 has been awarded to Gianna Angelopoulos-Daskalaki, President of the Organising Committee for the Games of the XXVIII Olympiad in Athens. The trophy was presented today on the occasion of International Women’s Day by Denis Oswald, Chairman of the Coordination Commission for these Games.

Five continental trophies
At the ceremony at the Olympic Museum in Lausanne, continental trophies were awarded to Marguerite Rouamba Karama (Burkina Faso/Africa), Orna Ostfeld (Israel/Europe), Donna Lopiano (USA/America), Annabel Pennefather (Singapore/Asia) and Lynne Bates (Australia/Oceania). The winners were chosen by the IOC Women and Sport Commission, chaired by IOC member Anita L. DeFrantz, among the dozens of candidatures submitted by the National Olympic Committees and International Olympic Sports Federations.

The architect of the success of the Athens Games
The Women and Sport Commission chose Gianna Angelopoulos-Daskalaki for the immense effort made and great passion invested in the Athens Olympic Games. Her professionalism and the inspiration for other women to get involved in sports administration were the main reasons for awarding this prize to her. According to the Commission, Gianna Angelopoulos-Daskalaki is a model to be followed by other women who want to get involved in sport and its administration. Furthermore, the Athens Olympic Games, of which she was the main protagonist, were an ideal platform for promoting women’s sport with women’s participation exceeding the 40% mark for the first time.

Promotion of women’s football in Africa
The African winner, Marguerite Rouamba Karama, received the trophy for her unfailing commitment to promoting women’s sport in her country (Burkina Faso) and even outside its borders. The founder of the first women’s team in Burkina Faso, the “Princesses”, also took the initiative to organise a yearly international women’s tournament in which four teams from neighbouring countries take part. She has also made a career in sports administration as Vice-President of the Football Centre League.

Founder of the largest women’s basketball school
The European winner, Orna Ostfeld, stands out as the founder and manager of the largest women’s basketball school in Israel, teams from which have won some important titles. As a player, administrator and coach, she has contributed to greater participation by young women at all sporting levels. Furthermore, she regularly contributes to the promotion of women’s sport in the media.

Defender of the cause of women in sport
The winner in the Americas, Donna Lopiano, stood out at the beginning of her career as an athlete who took part in 10 national softball championships, and was named one of the best American players nine times. Furthermore, she trained in various colleges and university softball, basketball and athletics teams. The former member of the United States Olympic Committee Administration Board is known for defending the cause of girls and women in sport.

Captain of the national team
Annabel Pennefather stood out as captain of Singapore’s national hockey team for 10 years. An exceptional athlete, she became a great sports leader, crowning her career with the election, in 2004, as the first women on the Singapore Hockey Federation. An active member of women and sport she now occupies other important roles in sports organisations internationally, regionally and nationally.

Olympic swimmer and Deputy Chef de Mission
Lynne Bates, winner of the Oceania trophy, had won a silver medal with the Australian 4 x 100m medley relay team at the Olympic Games in Mexico City in 1968. After this she played an important role in the Olympic Movement, crowned by her appointment as Director of Aquatic Sports in the Organising Committee for the Olympic Games in Sydney, and her appointment as Deputy Chef de Mission for the Australian team in Athens in 2004.

Created in 2000
Created in 2000, the IOC “Women and Sport” Trophy is awarded to a woman or a man (former athlete, coach, administrator or journalist) or to an organisation that has worked to develop, encourage and strengthen the participation of women and girls in physical and sports activities, in coaching or in administrative and decision-making structures, as well as for the promotion of women journalists and women's sport in the media.

Learn more on the Women and Sport Commission
Tags IOC News
back to top