skip to content
19 Jun 2003
IOC News

The VIII Prix Olympia to be awarded during the 115th IOC Session

Stamps with designs relating to Olympic sports and Olympic culture are an effective instrument for spreading and developing the Olympic spirit throughout the world. The stamps are issued by many postal administrations on the occasion of the Olympic Games.

In 1985, the President of the International Federation of Olympic Philately (FIPO), Juan Antonio Samaranch, under the patronage of the International Olympic Committee (IOC), created the Prix Olympia, a competition to honour the most attractive postage stamps issued on the occasion of each Olympic Games.

The winners of the VIII Prix Olympia celebrating stamps for the Salt Lake City Olympic Winter Games in 2002 are:

Gold: Poland
Silver: Canada
Bronze: Serbia and Montenegro (ex-Yugoslavia)
Originality: United States of America

The prizes will be awarded during the 115th IOC Session in Prague in the presence of IOC President Jacques Rogge and IOC Honorary President for Life, Juan Antonio Samaranch, on 2 July 2003 at 9:05 a.m. in the Hilton Hotel Congress Hall.

Further information on the Prix Olympia
Tags IOC News
back to top