skip to content
18 Apr 2001
IOC News , Press Release


Lausanne, 18 April 2001 - The Sport Science Award of the International Olympic Committee (IOC) President was awarded to Professor Allan Guttmann of Amherst College (Massachusetts, USA) and to the Heritage Family Study Consortium (USA) represented by Professor James Skinner at an official ceremony at the IOC headquarters today. The IOC President presented the prize in the presence of Professor Gudrun Doll-Tepper, President of the International Council of Sport Science and Physical Education (ICSSPE).

Presenting the prize, the IOC President declared: “I congratulate the two winners for the quality of their work, and thank Professor Doll-Tepper for her valued collaboration. I look forward to seeing the next IOC President continuing our fruitful working relationship during the years ahead.”

Biographer of former IOC President Avery Brundage and President of NASSH (the North American Society of Sport History), Professor Guttmann published a history of the modern Olympic Games in 1992. He was asked to update this work, which he has done while remaining impartial as to the choice of events and athletes included, and by undertaking a political, social, economic and cultural study of the phenomenon of the Olympic Games.

The underlying principles of the Heritage Family Study Consortium’s work (Heritage stands for: Health, Risk Factors, Exercise Training and Genetics) are based on the following premises:
- regular training has a beneficial effect on the risks of cardiovascular disease and diabetes;
- individual responses to exercise vary greatly from one person to another, and genes seem to play a predominant role in this.

The Heritage Family Study Consortium has helped to develop study programmes on the influence of exercise on a given sedentary population. The Consortium will shortly begin working on DNA and longitudinal studies of the subjects featured in earlier programmes.

The IOC President’s Prize was created at the end of the 1970s to reward studies in the field of sports science and physical education. It is awarded jointly by the IOC and the ICSSPE every year.

back to top