skip to content
03 Jul 2007

The 2014 Election

The Host City of the 2014 Olympic Winter Games will be elected at the 119th IOC Session in Guatemala City tomorrow, 4 July 2007. The IOC members will have to choose between the cities of Sochi (Russian Federation), Salzburg (Austria) and PyeongChang (Republic of Korea)*, which have all gone through a bidding process lasting about two years. The members will make their decision based on the Candidature Files produced by each city, the IOC Evaluation Commission’s report , and the presentations made on 4 July by the cities. The announcement of the Host City will be made during a 30-minute live television broadcast which will begin at 5 p.m. local time.
Watch IOC President Jacques Rogge talk about the 2014 election, the evaluation commission report and the benefits of being a candidate city:
 Watch the video (Windows Media Stream, high band, 1:15 minutes)
Voting procedure
IOC members vote by secret ballot. Voting will take place in successive rounds until one candidate receives a majority of the votes cast. The IOC members in a country which has a candidate in the election must abstain from taking part in the vote whilst such candidate is still in the running.
Non-votes, spoiled votes and abstentions do not count towards the calculation of the majority. For example, if 100 members are present but four (4) abstain, the number of votes needed for a majority is 49.
If there is no majority in the first round, the city with the fewest votes drops out of the running, and the members vote again for the remaining candidates. If multiple rounds are needed, the city with the least number of votes is eliminated and announced and there is a new round of voting. If two or more cities receive the same number of votes, a run-off election may be held, as appropriate, and the city with the least number of votes is eliminated.
Televised vote
As part of the reforms undertaken by the IOC at the end of 1999, IOC Sessions are open to the media via closed-circuit telecast. This has been the case since the 109th Session in Seoul in 1999. The closed-circuit feed of the election is available for broadcast and you can also watch the day’s proceedings live on this website.
Electronic vote
The members vote using an electronic voting system, which immediately and securely tallies the votes. The electronic voting system was first introduced during the 111th Session in Sydney in 2000 as part of the IOC’s drive to update its policies and procedures. The voting system is certified by an independent company. How each member votes is not recorded to shield the member from external pressures to vote in a certain way. The tally of votes per round is reported after the conclusion of the election.
*Cities are listed in the order of drawing of lots
Number of IOC members as of July 2007:
IOC President Jacques Rogge:
Nationals from the Russian Federation:
- Vitaly Smirnov
- Shamil Tarpischev
- Alexander Popov
Nationals from Austria:
- Leo Wallner
Nationals from Germany:
- Thomas Bach
- Walther Tröger
Nationals from the Republic of Korea:
- Kun Hee Lee
- Yong Sun Park
Excused members
- Nawaf Faisal Fahd Abdulaziz (Saudi Arabia)
- Barbara Kendall (New Zealand)
- Nora de Liechtenstein
- Randhir Singh (India)
- Pernilla Wiberg (Sweden)
Number of members eligible to vote in the first round:
* According to the Olympic Charter, German members must refrain from taking part in the vote because one sport facility in the bid file of Salzburg is located in Germany
- In the event of a second round of voting, nationals from the country of the city which has been eliminated because it received the least number of votes CAN VOTE.
- The Honorary President, and Honorary and Honour members DO NOT vote.
  Current IOC Members by continent
*Cities are listed in the order of drawing of lots
back to top