skip to content
20 Apr 2004
IOC News

Synchronised swimming qualifiers completed in Athens

The Synchronised Swimming Olympic Qualification Tournament came to an end on 18 April, concluding with 24 duets and eight teams qualifying for the Games of the XXVIII Olympiad in Athens this summer.

Australian And Egyptian Duets Qualify In Extremis
The Australian duet of Amanda Laird and Leonie Nichols and the Egyptian pairing of Heba Abdel Gawad and Dallia Allam have qualified for the Olympic Games at the expense of the German and Puerto Rican teams after a decision was taken by FINA when it became clear that no team representing the African or Oceanic continents would be present at the Games. This means that the 24 qualifying duets will represent: Australia, Belarus, Brazil, Bulgaria, Canada, China, Czech Republic, Egypt, Spain, France, Great Britain, Greece, Israel, Italy, Japan, Kazakhstan, Korea, Mexico, Netherlands, Russia, Switzerland, Slovakia, Ukraine and the USA.

Eight Teams Make It To The Games
In the team event, eight teams have qualified for the Games in Athens this summer. The teams are: Canada, China, Spain, Greece, Italy, Japan, Russia and the USA. The Russian team finished first with Japan and the USA taking second and third place respectively in the qualifying tournament.

Aquatics At The Games
The synchronised swimming competition will take place at the Olympic Aquatic Centre of the Athens Olympic Sport Complex. It will be held from 23 August until 27 August with the duet final taking place on 25 August and the team final taking place on the 27 August.

Learn more on Synchronized Swimming

Official website of the Fédération Internationale de Natation

Official website of Athens 2004
Tags IOC News
back to top