skip to content
21 Apr 2006
IOC News , museum-news-articles

SportStar Awards 2006 at the Olympic Museum

On Thursday 20 April, the Olympic Museum in Lausanne hosted the 4th edition of the SportStar Awards. The ceremony was held under the patronage and in the presence of Jacques Rogge, President of the International Olympic Committee (IOC), Juan Antonio Samaranch, IOC Honorary President for Life, and Mario Pescante, President of the European Olympic Committees. Also present were Valentino Castellani, President of the 2006 Olympic Winter Games Organising Committee (TOROC), and representatives of the Winter Sports International Federations, the International Paralympic Committee (IPC) and Eurosport.
Olympic champions from Turin honoured
Created in 2000 by TV channel Eurosport, with the support of the IOC, this event pays tribute to the European athletes who take part in the Olympic Games and who are considered as the best representatives of the fundamental values of sport. Two months after the closing of the XX Olympic Winter Games, the Olympic Museum’s visitors were able to rub shoulders with some of the best athletes of these recent Games whose feats thrilled us all. Among them were Irina Slutskaya, Philipp Schoch, Daniela Meuli, Evelyne Leu, Anette Norberg, Antoine Dénériaz, Enrico Fabris and Giorgio di Centa. At the beginning of the afternoon, a signing session had been organised, offering the Museum’s visitors and many fans the chance to see their idols close up.
Eurosport, IOC partner
For more than 10 years, Eurosport has contributed to promoting sport and the Olympic ideals to television audiences worldwide. On 23 June 1993, on the anniversary of the IOC’s creation, Olympic Magazine was launched. It is a monthly Eurosport programme in which reports cover subjects as varied as Olympic history, sports performances and the positions of the IOC.
back to top