skip to content
22 Apr 2008
IOC News , Beijing 2008

Qualified for Beijing: Olympic Football Tournament

The draw for the men’s and women's football tournaments of the 2008 Olympic Games in Beijing divided the 16 men’s and the 12 women’s teams into seven different groups. The tournament is scheduled from 6 to 23 August 2008 in five different host cities. The qualification games take place in Shanghai, Tianjin, Shenyang and Qinhuangdao. The finals will be played in Beijing. It is the only sports event that starts before the official Opening Ceremony of the Games, which will take place on 8 August 2008 at 8 p.m.

The men’s teams are composed of players under 23 years old, with the exception of three over-age players permitted. The two top teams from each group go through to the quarter-finals.

GROUP A (Host City Shanghai)
Ivory Coast, Argentina, Australia, Serbia

GROUP B (Tianjin)
Netherlands, Nigeria, Japan, USA

GROUP C (Shenyang)
China, New Zealand, Brazil, Belgium

GROUP D (Qinhuangdao)
South Korea, Cameroon, Honduras, Italy

There is no age limit for the women’s tournament. The two top teams are qualified for the quarter finals along with the best two third-placed teams.

GROUP E (Tianjin)
China, Swede, Argentina, Canada

GROUP F (Shenyang)
North Korea, Nigeria, Germany, Brazil

GROUP G (Qinhuangdao)
Norway, USA, Japan, New Zealand

 Learn more about football

Animations flash

back to top Fr