skip to content
13 Jun 2008
Olympic News , Beijing 2008

Qualified for Beijing: draw for the volleyball tournament

The draw for the Olympic volleyball tournaments took place on 11 June at the Capital Indoor Stadium, the main volleyball venue next August. This event was held under the supervision of the First Executive Vice-President of the International Volleyball Federation, Jizhong Wei, in the presence of Executive Vice-President of the Beijing Games Organising Committee (BOCOG) Yang Shu’an, and representatives of the Chinese Volleyball Federation and the Chinese Olympic Committee. The 12 women’s teams and 12 men’s teams qualified have been divided into two groups of six (A and B). The schedule for the preliminary rounds was also released. Based on a serpentine system which referred to world volleyball rankings as of 5 January 2008, the results of the draw were as follows:
Women’s tournament
Pool A: China, Cuba, USA, Japan, Poland, Venezuela
Pool B: Brazil, Italy, Russian Federation, Serbia, Kazakhstan, Algeria
Men’s tournament
Pool A: China, USA, Bulgaria, Italy, Japan, Venezuela
Pool B: Brazil, Russian Federation, Poland, Serbia, Egypt, Germany
From Saturday 9 to Sunday 24 August
The Olympic volleyball tournaments will be staged from 9 to 24 August 2008 at the Beijing Institute of Technology Gymnasium and at the Capital Indoor Stadium, which will host the finals. The top four teams in each pool will advance to the quarter-finals, which begin on 19 August. The final of the women’s tournament will be held on 23 August, followed the next day by the final of the men’s tournament.

Related stories
 Preliminary match order completed for Olympic Volleyball Tournaments after Drawing of Lots in Beijing
 Olympic volleyball prelim schedule confirmed

Animations flash


 Learn more about volleyball

 Beijing 2008 official site
back to top Fr