skip to content
09 Dec 2015
IOC News

Outstanding number of candidates for IOC Athletes’ Commission elections in Rio

The IOC Executive Board (EB) this morning approved the candidatures of 24 athletes for the IOC Athletes’ Commission elections, which will be held during the Olympic Games Rio de Janeiro 2016 next August.

Candidates come from all continents and are representing 14 different sports with an equal number of men and women. This great outcome owes much to the Olympic Agenda 2020 reforms which have put a greater focus on athletes and the central role they have to play within the IOC and the Olympic Movement.
Four seats on the Commission will become available in 2016, with current members Claudia Bokel, Dae Sung Moon, Alexander Popov and Yumilka Ruiz Luaces finishing their terms of office next summer. All athletes participating in Rio de Janeiro 2016 will be eligible to vote. After approval by the IOC Session, the four elected athletes will become IOC members for an eight-year term of office. 
List of candidates (in alphabetical order) can be found here.

Tags IOC News
back to top Fr