skip to content
22 Jun 2011
Women in Sport , IOC News , Olympism in action

Olympic Day to highlight IOC Women and Sport Award winners

On the occasion of Olympic Day on 23 June, the IOC will present this year’s winners of its Women and Sport Awards. Five continental trophies and one world trophy will be given to exceptional personalities who all have made a significant difference to boosting the development, participation and involvement of women and girls in sport around the world. This year’s winners will include international sports icons, sports leaders and people active at grassroots level.

The official ceremony will take place at the IOC headquarters in Lausanne, in the presence of IOC President Jacques Rogge; Anita DeFrantz, IOC member and Chairperson of the IOC Women and Sport Commission; the members of the IOC Women and Sport Commission; IOC Executive Board members; and guests invited to take part in the Olympic Day celebrations.

In anticipation of this year’s awards, the IOC President stated: “These 2011 IOC Women and Sport Awards are inspirational and show how far we have come since the 1980s when women first joined the IOC. But we all have much more to do, to narrow the gap both in sport between men and women, and between the developed and the developing worlds.”

About Olympic Day

Olympic Day was introduced in 1948 to commemorate the birth of the modern Olympic Games on 23 June 1894 at the Sorbonne in Paris.  The goal was to promote participation in sport across the globe, regardless of age, gender or athletic ability, and the number of participants has steadily increased over the years. Today, hundreds of thousands of people – young and old – get moving and participate in sporting and cultural activities, such as runs, exhibitions, music and educational seminars. 

Follow us on to find out more about Olympic Day and the Women and Sport Awards winners.



back to top