skip to content
06 Nov 2013
Women in Sport , IOC News

Nominations open for the 2014 IOC Women and Sport Awards

Do you know someone who is active in promoting gender equality and women’s participation in your sport or country? The International Olympic Committee (IOC) invites each National Olympic Committee (NOC), International Federation (IF) and Continental Association to propose one candidate for the 2014 IOC Women and Sports Awards.

While female Olympians act as influential role models for young women around the world, the IOC also highlights the work of others who have made important and long-lasting contributions to furthering the cause and inclusion of women and girls in all levels of the sporting world. This is why every year, since 2000, six IOC Women and Sport trophies (one per continent and one at world level) are awarded to those women, men or organisations that have worked to encourage, develop and strengthen the participation of women and girls in physical and sports activities, in coaching, and in administrative and decision-making structures.

As part of the IOC’s on-going commitment to advancing the cause of women in sport on and off the field of play, every winner, which includes former athletes, coaches, journalists, policy-makers and organisations, is offered the opportunity to introduce new initiatives at national, regional and continental levels with the financial support of the IOC, and in cooperation with the NOCs, IFs, UN Women or NGOs.

To learn more about the 2014 IOC Women and Sport Awards or nominate a candidate, consult the Women and Sport Commission page here.

Hurry up, as nominations need to be submitted by 29 November 2013!


back to top