skip to content
16 Aug 2013
IOC News , Athletes' space

Nine athletes to vie for two spots on the IOC Athletes’ Commission

During its meeting last week in Moscow, the IOC Executive Board (EB) approved the candidatures of nine athletes for the IOC Athletes’ Commission elections, which will be held during the Olympic Winter Games in Sochi, Russia, in February 2014. Two seats on the Commission will become available in 2014, with current members Beckie Scott and Saku Koivu both finishing their terms of office next winter. All athletes participating in Sochi 2014 will be eligible to vote. After approval by the IOC Session, the two elected athletes will become IOC members for an eight-year term of office.

About the IOC Athletes’ Commission

Created in 1981, the IOC Athletes' Commission is the link between Olympic athletes and the IOC and serves as the athletes' voice within the Olympic Movement. Since 1996, the majority of the Commission’s members (12 of 19) have been elected by their peers during an edition of the Olympic Games. Members of the Athletes’ Commission are involved in the IOC’s main commissions and working groups. The Chair of the Athletes’ Commission, a position currently held by Claudia Bokel, serves as a member of the IOC Executive Board and thus represents the athletes’ interests at the highest level.

The list of candidates (in alphabetical order) features some of the top names in winter sport, and each is eager to commit to the important role of representing all Olympic athletes:

Family Name  Given Name  NOC Sport
Mr ALBRECHT Kilian BUL Alpine Skiing
Mr BJORNDALEN Ole Einar  NOR Biathlon
Mr CUCHE   Didier  SUI  Alpine Skiing
Ms   DOMRACHEVA   Darya  BLR  Biathlon
Ms   JELUSIC  Ana  CRO  Alpine Skiing
Mr   PILLER-COTTRER Pietro  ITA  Cross-Country Skiing
Ms   POUTIAINEN  Tanja  FIN  Alpine Skiing
Ms   WICKENHEISER   Hayley   CAN  Ice Hockey
Ms   ZAHROBSKA   Sarka  CZE  Alpine Skiing


Elected by their peers

Only National Olympic Committees (NOCs) with an athletes’ commission meeting the IOC criteria were eligible to put forward a candidate. The candidates themselves must have taken part in the Vancouver 2010 Games or be taking part in the Sochi 2014 Games.

All athletes participating at Sochi 2014 will be eligible to vote. They will be asked to elect two candidates from two different sports to ensure a varied representation from the Olympic sports programme. Voting offices will be set up in each of the three Olympic Villages.  

back to top