skip to content
09 Sep 2013
IOC News

Next IOC President to be elected this Tuesday

The ninth President in the 119-year history of the International Olympic Committee is set to be elected this Tuesday, 10 September, the final day of the 125th IOC Session in Buenos Aires, Argentina.

Vying to succeed current President Jacques Rogge, whose 12-year term in office ends with the closing of the Session, are six candidates: Thomas Bach, Sergey Bubka, Richard Carrión, Ser Miang Ng, Denis Oswald, and Ching-Kuo Wu*.

The IOC President is elected by the IOC members by secret ballot for a mandate of eight years, with the possibility to run again for a second, four-year term.

Voting procedure
The candidate who obtains a majority of votes will be proclaimed elected. Voting will continue for as many rounds as necessary for a candidate to obtain a majority, with the candidate obtaining the fewest votes in each round being eliminated. If the same number of votes is obtained by two or more candidates during an intermediate vote in which one candidate must be eliminated, a run-off vote will be held. IOC members from the same countries as the presidential candidates will not be allowed to vote unless their compatriot is eliminated.

Announcement of new IOC President
The announcement of the new IOC President is scheduled for 10 September 2013 at 12.30 p.m. local time and will be broadcast live on

In other decisions tomorrow, the Session will elect one new Vice-President, one new member of the IOC Executive Board, and nine proposed new members.

Click here to learn more about the first eight IOC Presidents.

*In alphabetical order


Tags IOC News
back to top