skip to content
26 Aug 2002
IOC News , Press Release

New Chairman of the Athletes' Commission

Olympic gold medallist and six-time World Champion in pole-vaulting, Sergey Bubka, was today appointed Chairman of the IOC Athletes' Commission. Bubka, 39 from the Ukraine, was proposed to IOC President Jacques Rogge by the Athletes’ Commission meeting in Lausanne, and was officially designated by the President as the new Chairman, succeeding five-time Olympian in sailing, Peter Tallberg.

Bubka, who competed in Seoul ’88 (where he won gold), Barcelona ’92, Atlanta ’96 and Sydney 2000 is also six-time World Champion (’83, ’87, ’91, 93, ’95 , ’97), won gold medals in the 1985 World Cup, the 1986 European Championships and the 1985 European Cup. During his career he beat the world record 35 times and is the current record holder with 6.15m. He has been a member of the IOC Athletes’ Commission since 1996 and was elected to the IOC Executive Board as the first active athlete’s representative in 2000.

Commenting on his new position, Bubka said, "I am honoured to be voted Chairman of the Athletes’ Commission. As the first active athlete’s representative of the IOC Executive Board, I have enjoyed playing a role for athletes in the IOC since 2000. This new position will allow me to further the work which Peter Tallberg has been so keenly contributing to over the past years – that of giving the athletes a voice within the Olympic Movement".

Tallberg, from Finland, was at the origin of the creation of the Athletes' Commission, serving as Chairman since its inception in 1981. He played a key role in the increasing involvement of athletes within the IOC.

The Athletes' Commission is composed of 19 members with the majority being active athletes elected by their peers: twelve members elected by athletes participating in the Olympic Games; seven are appointed by the IOC President to ensure a fair balance in terms of gender, sport and region. In addition, a representative of the World Olympians Association and a representative of the International Paralympic Committee are ex-officio members. The Commission holds at least one meeting each year, meets regularly with the IOC Executive Board, to which it issues recommendations, and has representatives in all IOC Commissions.

Out of the 19 members, twelve have been elected as IOC members for the duration of their term, among them the athletes elected by their peers.

Full composition of the Athletes' Commission

back to top