skip to content
07 May 2012
London 2012 , IOC News

London 2012 Water Polo Draw Announced

In the men’s competition, reigning Olympic champions Hungary – who have won gold at the last three editions of the Games – were drawn with hosts Great Britain in Group B, along with Beijing 2008 bronze medallists Serbia, Montenegro, Romania and the USA.

Group A will see reigning world champions Italy battle it out with Greece Kazakhstan, Spain, Australia and Croatia. The four highest ranked teams in each group will qualify for the knockout stages.

In the women’s tournament, Beijing silver medallists USA were drawn alongside Hungary, Spain and China in Group A, while 2008 bronze medallists Australia – who have won every tournament they have played in this year – will face hosts Great Britain, Italy and Russia in Group B.

All eight teams in the women’s competition will progress through to the quarterfinals.


back to top