skip to content
05 Nov 2003
IOC News

IOC/IAKS AWARD - Gold for Australia, Austria and Germany

This year's IOC/International Association for Sports and Leisure Facilities (IAKS) awards ceremony, for outstanding architecture in the field of sports and leisure facilities, was held in Cologne (Germany) on Wednesday 5 November. Gold medals went to architects from Australia, Austria and Germany for a multifunctional stadium in Sydney, an equestrian hall in Vienna and a swimming pool in Munich.

3 Gold, 12 Silver, 7 Bronze
The jury, composed of members of the IOC and IAKS – architects, engineers, landscape designers and sports scientists – awarded three gold, twelve silver and seven bronze medals as well as five special distinctions. Competitors from each continent won at least one medal.

Sports as a human right
IOC Vice-President Thomas Bach mentioned in his speech at the awards ceremony that architecture is one important means for achieving such important goals as "access to sport facilities to all", and contributes therefore to the application of the IOC's fundamental principles, such as "the practice of sports as a human right".

International importance
The IOC/IAKS award is the only architecture award of international importance for existing sports and leisure facilities. Eligible for this award were sports facilities built between 1995 and 2000 and which had therefore been in operation for at least two years.
Tags IOC News
back to top