skip to content
30 May 2008
IOC News

IOC selects Candidate Cities for the 2016 Summer Games

On 4 June 2008, the International Olympic Committee (IOC) Executive Board will select the Candidate Cities for the Games of the XXXI Olympiad to be held in 2016. Seven Applicant Cities -  Chicago (USA), Prague (Czech Republic), Tokyo (Japan), Rio de Janeiro (Brazil), Baku (Azerbaijan), Doha (Qatar) and Madrid (Spain)*- have submitted their applications and are eager to know whether they can move to next phase, the so-called candidature procedure phase.
IOC President Jacques Rogge will announce the selected Candidate Cities in a press conference at 4.30 p.m. (GMT).
* The cities are listed in the order of drawing of lots
From Applicants to Candidates

The Candidate Cities selected on 4 June will be requested to submit their Candidature File with an in-depth description of their Olympic project. They will also prepare for the visit of the IOC Evaluation Commission. The Evaluation Commission will make a detailed technical assessment of each candidature and publish a report one month before the election of the host city for the IOC members to review. The following timetable has been established for this phase:
8 – 24 August 2008
Olympic Games Observer Programme – Beijing 2008
12 February 2009
Submission of Candidature File to the IOC
One month before the election of the host city
Report by the 2016 IOC Evaluation Commission
Election of the Host City on 2 October 2009
The election of the host city of the 2016 Games will take place on 2 October 2009 during the 121st IOC Session in Copenhagen. IOC members will cast their votes until one city has obtained a majority.

 Additional information for media
Tags IOC News
back to top