skip to content
17 Sep 2010
IOC News , Marketing

IOC honours broadcasters for Vancouver 2010 coverage

The International Olympic Committee (IOC) on Thursday honoured broadcasters for their outstanding coverage of the Vancouver 2010 Olympic Winter Games at the biennial Olympic Golden Rings ceremony in Lausanne.

42 film clips in the running
This year, 42 film clips from 13 countries were judged by an international jury, with the winners receiving their prizes at The Olympic Museum in the presence of IOC President Jacques Rogge. Members of the IOC Radio and Television Commission were also in attendance, along with representatives from the rights-holding broadcasters, the Organising Committees for the Olympic Games in Vancouver, London and Sochi, International Federations and the city of Lausanne.


And the Golden Rings go to …

Gold, silver and bronze trophies were awarded in four categories: Best Olympic Feature, Best Athlete Profile, Best Olympic Programme, and Best Sports Coverage by the Host Broadcaster.

NBC was the big winner of the evening, striking gold in The Best Olympic Feature category for “Discovery,” the broadcaster’s introduction to the Vancouver Games on the night of the Opening Ceremony, before taking top honours in the Best Athlete Profile category for a piece on Norwegian Alpine skiier Aksel Lund Svindal. China’s CCTV won the The Best Olympic Programme category for their coverage of pair figure skaters Shen Xue and Zhao Hongbo, while “Ice Hockey” was named Best Sports Coverage by Host Broadcaster OBSV.

History of the Golden Rings

Created in 1976, the Olympic Golden Rings is a prestigious international contest through which the IOC seeks to promote and recognise excellence in television broadcasting of the Olympic Games.  The contest is organised every two years, on the occasion of the Summer and Winter Games, under the aegis of the IOC Radio and Television Commission.

Summary of awards (Title/ Director/ Producer)

The Best Sports Coverage by the Host Broadcasting Organisation (OBSV):

Gold: Ice Hockey / Brian Douglas / Paul Hemming, John Szpala (CTV)
Silver: Alpine/ Brian Douglas, Ursula Romero/ Beni Giger (SGR)
Bronze: Cross Country/ Henry Mok, Kalevi Uusivuori/ Tapani Parm (YLE)

The Best Olympic Feature

Gold: NBC "Discovery"/ Dick Ebersol, Mark Levy, Brian Brown
Silver: Nine Network Australia "Last Man Standing"/ Paul O'Doherty/ Alex Rolls
Bronze: Eurosport "Olympic Magazine"/ Christian Seychal

The Best Athlete Profile

Gold: NBC "Aksel Lund Svindal"/ Dick Ebersol, Mark Levy, Phil Parrish, Matt Allen
Silver: ZDF "Alexandre Bilodeau"/ Susanne Simon/ Anke Scholten
Bronze: Record TV Network Brazil "Domingo Espetacular"/ Isabella Gubert, Julio Frascino/ Douglas Tavolaro

The Best Olympic Programme

Gold: CCTV China "Shen Xue and Zhao Hongbo"/ Jiang Heping, Fang Gang, Yu Jie, Yu Bu/ Ran Mengming
Silver: NBC "XXI Olympic Winter Games"/ Dick Ebersol, David Neal/ Bucky Gunts
Bronze: Nine Network Australia "Olympic Winter Games"/ Steve Crawley, Lesley Tapsall, Tim Cleary, Alex Rolls/ Shane Street, Gary Newnham

back to top