skip to content
09 Oct 2009
Olympic News

IOC elects six new members

The 121st IOC Session today elected six new members from four different continents to the International Olympic Committee. In other decisions, Mario Pescante and Ser Miang Ng became IOC Vice-Presidents, and Craig Reedie as well as John Coates joined the IOC Executive Board. The Session also elected five honorary members.

Universality: an IOC focus

The new IOC members are Richard Peterkin (St Lucia); HRH Frederik, the Crown Prince of Denmark; Habu Ahmed Gumel (Nigeria); Habib Abdul Nabi Macki (Oman); Lydia Nsekera (Burundi); and Göran Petersson (Sweden).

Petersson joined the IOC in his role as President of the International Sailing Federation (ISAF). The others were elected as independent individuals. The geographic diversity of the new IOC members reflects the universality of the Olympic Movement. The members will serve eight-year terms. As of today, the IOC has 112 members.  

Executive Board elections

Mario Pescante and Ser Miang Ng, who were EB members to date, have been elected as Vice-Presidents. They are replacing Lambis Nikolaou (Greece) and Chiharu Igaya (Japan) whose terms of office for Vice-Presidency ended.

Furthermore, Craig Reedie and John Coates were elected as members of the Executive Board. An IOC member since 1994, Reedie is also a member of the London 2012 Organising Committee Board. Coates, an IOC member since 2001, is President of the Australian National Olympic Committee.

Chaired by President Jacques Rogge, the EB now comprises Thomas Bach, Zaiqing Yu, Mario Pescante and Ser Miang Ng as Vice-Presidents; and Sam Ramsamy, Gerhard Heiberg, Denis Oswald, René Fasel, Mario Vázquez Raña, Frank Fredericks, Nawal El Moutawakel, Richard L. Carrión, Craig Reedie and John Coates.

Five IOC honorary members

Zhenliang He (China), Walther Tröger (Germany), Tamás Ajan (Hungary) and Fernando Limo Bello will cease to be IOC members at the end of this year. As they have served more than 10 years and rendered exceptional services to the IOC, the Session has elected them as IOC honorary members from 1 January 2010.  Furthermore, Mustapha Larfaoui whose membership recently ceased was elected honorary member with immediate effect due to his outstanding contribution to the IOC.

Learn more about the 121st IOC Session


back to top Fr