skip to content
23 Aug 2005
IOC News , Press Release

IOC announces Coordination Commission for London 2012 Olympic Games

International Olympic Committee (IOC) President Jacques Rogge has appointed Denis Oswald as Chairman of the Coordination Commission for the Games of the XXX Olympiad in London, in 2012. Oswald will lead a 15-strong, multinational team of men and women responsible for assisting the London Organising Committee for the Olympic Games (LOCOG) during the seven years leading up to the Olympic Games, as well as monitoring the progress of preparations.
An IOC member in Switzerland since 1991, IOC Executive Board member and also President of the International Rowing Federation (FISA), Denis Oswald was Chairman of the IOC Coordination Commission for Athens 2004, having taken over from Rogge when the latter was elected IOC President. The members of his Coordination Commission, also announced today, comprise IOC members from five continents with wide-ranging Olympic Games experience gained either from work on former IOC Evaluation or Coordination Commissions or from Games organising committees. With five Olympic medallists among them, the members of the Commission represent the stakeholders of the Olympic Movement, including Olympic and Paralympic athletes, the National Olympic Committees and International Sports Federations, and act as a link between them, the Organising Committee and other Olympic family stakeholders, thereby ensuring the coordination necessary to help deliver successful Olympic Games.
“Denis Oswald is the ideal person to lead the IOC’s partnership with London during the preparations for the 2012 Olympic Games,” said IOC President Jacques Rogge. “He will be supported by an excellent team, whose experience and knowledge will prove invaluable in assisting the work in London. Denis brings a unique combination of skills and experience, as a medal-winning, three-time Olympic athlete and a sports leader with nearly 30 years of experience organising international competitions of the highest level. With the success of Athens 2004, Denis has already demonstrated his ability to help lead the delivery of excellent Olympic Games while under great pressure, bringing partners together and resolving a wide range of difficult issues,” said Rogge.
Accepting the opportunity to lead the IOC’s team of men and women coordinating work on the London 2012 Games, Oswald commented: “It is a great honour for me to be given this opportunity to serve the Olympic Movement once again as Coordination Commission Chairman. I am confident that London has all the ingredients for success: from a technically-sound plan to widespread popular support. Preparing for the Games requires a team effort: the group named today as Coordination Commission can be expected to make a significant contribution to that effort, on behalf of the IOC.”
The IOC Coordination Commission will benefit from administrative support that has been strengthened under President Rogge as part of the IOC’s focus on ensuring the delivery of consistently high quality Olympic Games through the appropriate management processes. The IOC Coordination Commission executive (comprising the Chairman supported by the IOC administration) will make its first visit to London on 25 August, with further visits expected before the end of 2005.    The first full Coordination Commission meeting is due in the spring of 2006.
The members of the Coordination Commission are as follows:

Members (in alphabetical order)
John Dowling COATES, AO (AUS)
Patrick JARVIS (CAN)
Ser Miang NG (SIN)
Austin SEALY (BAR)
Zaiqing YU (CHN)
Executive Director for the Commission
Gilbert FELLI (SUI) IOC Executive Director, Olympic Games
back to top