skip to content
21 Mar 2003
IOC News

IOC 2003 Women and Sport Trophy Winners

The IOC President and the famous Moroccan athlete Nawal El Moutawakel, IOC member and member of the IOC Women and Sport Working Group, today awarded the 2003 Women Sport Trophies to the winners during a ceremony held at the IOC headquarters.

The winners were selected by the IOC Women and Sport Working Group, chaired by Anita L. DeFrantz, from the 81 candidates submitted by National Olympic Committees and International Olympic Sports Federations. The Working Group selected: the Angola Handball Federation (Angola), for Africa; Cecilia Tait, international volleyball player, (Perù), for the Americas; Cynthia Carrion, sports administrator, (Philippines), for Asia; Larisa Popova, athlete legend, (Republic of Moldova), for Europe; and Evonne Goolaagong Cawley, tennis player, (Australia), for Oceania. On this occasion, the president awarded the Pierre de Coubertin Medal to Cecila Tait.

The Trophy is awarded annually to a person or organisation in recognition of his/her/its outstanding contribution to developing the participation of women and girls in sports activities.

Learn more about the winners
Tags IOC News
back to top