skip to content
17 May 2001
IOC News , Press Release


Lausanne, 17 May 2001 - The IOC 2001 Women Sport Trophies have been awarded to the winners by the IOC President, Juan Antonio Samaranch, during a ceremony held at the IOC headquarters.
The trophy, established in 2000, is awarded annually to a woman/man (athlete, coach, administrator or journalist) or to an institution/organization in recognition of her/his/its outstanding contribution to develop, encourage and strengthen the participation of women and girls in physical and sports activities, in coaching, in administrative and leadership sport structures, as well as the promotion of women’s sport in the media and of women journalists. Five continental trophies and one at world level are awarded.
The winners were designated by the IOC Women and Sport Working Group, chaired by Anita L. DeFrantz, 1st IOC Vice-President, from the forty candidates submitted by National Olympic Committees and International Federations: Sahar El Hawary (Egypt) for Africa, Marion Lay (Canada) for the Americas, the Malaysian Women’s Hockey Association (represented by its Honorary Secretary, Shamala Subramanian) for Asia, Ruth Brosche (Germany) for Europe, and the Australian Olympic Committee (represented by Kevan Gosper, IOC Member in Australia) for the World Trophy.

Trophy for Africa:
Sahar El Hawary (Egypt) has been committed to women’s football in Egypt since 1993. As as sport manager, communicator, television commentator and referee, she has been very active and successful in fostering sport for women in Egypt and in the Arab world. Under her initiative, the first women’s football committee was established and led to the organization of the first Arab Women’s Football Tournament in Egypt in 1997. Appointed member of the FIFA Committee for Women’s Football in 1998, she has also been president of the first Arab League for women’s football since 2000 and is the first woman member of the Egyptian Football Association.

Trophy for the Americas:

Marion Lay (Canada) has contributed throughout her life to Canadian sport and to the advancement of women in sport in Canada and around the world as an athlete, coach, teacher, and administrator. As an advisor to both federal and provincial government, she managed Sport Canada’s Women’s Programme and was a founder of the Canadian Association for the Advancement of Women in Sport and Physical Activity (CAAWS). Member of the Canadian Olympic swimming team at the 1964 and 1968 Olympic Games, she was a bronze medallist in the 4x100m freestyle relay in 1968.
Ms Lay is currently director of programmes for “Promotion Plus”, the British Columbian organization for girls and women in physical activity and sport, of which she is the founding chairperson.

Trophy for Asia:

The Malaysian Women’s Hockey Association was the first all-women national sports association established in the country in 1974. It has been one of the most well-organized and -managed associations, raising its own funds and organizing its activities, relentlessly promoting women and sport in Malaysia and in the Asian region. Women involved in hockey have been the pioneers of women’s sport since the 1920’s. It has selected and trained numerous national women teams to participate in international women’s hockey championships as well as in the Asian Games and the Southeast Asian Games.

Trophy for Europe:

Ruth Brosche (Germany) served as chairwoman of the Federal Commission for Women and Sport within the German Sports Confederation and encouraged the participation of women in disciplines that were until then considered as reserved for men and called for high level competitions. She has worked, among others, for the inclusion of pole vault, hammer throw, weightlifting, football and waterpolo in female sports programmes. In 1975, she organized the first National Women’s Congress, of which the impact has been very important in raising awareness about issues faced by women in sport.

Trophy for Oceania:

The IOC Women and Sport Working Group decided not to award a trophy for Oceania this year as no candidature met the requirements.

World Trophy:

The Group decided to award it to the Australian Olympic Committee, in recognition of its important work on the occasion of the Games of the XXVII Olympiad in Sydney, which celebrated with special emphasis the hundredth anniversary of women’s participation in the Olympic Games - in particular during the Opening Ceremony, and marked a record participation for women athletes from all over the world.

back to top