skip to content
16 Jun 2004
IOC News

Hockey schedule confirmed for Athens

The International Hockey Federation (FIH) has released the match schedules for both the men’s and women’s competitions at this summer's Olympic Games in Athens. The schedule sees defending women’s gold medallists Australia playing Germany on day one of the women’s hockey tournament, while men’s gold medallists the Netherlands face up to the traditional hockey powerhouse of India.

Men’s schedule at the Games
The men’s competition at the Games comprises two groups of six teams. Pool A contains the European, African and Asian champions Germany, Egypt and Korea, respectively, as well as Great Britain, Pakistan and Spain. Pool B, on the other hand, is the home to the Oceania and Pan-American champions, Australia and Argentina, the current Olympic champions, the Netherlands, and India, New Zealand and South Africa. The men’s games will start on 15 August 2004 and will be played until 27 August 2004 every second day.

Women’s Olympic competition
Women’s Olympic hockey is made up of two groups of five teams. It will start on 14 August 2004 and will be played every second day until 26 August 2004. Pool A plays host to Olympic silver medallists Argentina, China, Japan, New Zealand and Spain. In pool B, the current Olympic gold and bronze medallists, Australia and the Netherlands, will face up to Germany, Korea and South Africa.

At the Olympic Hockey Centre in the Helliniko Olympic Complex
Hockey will be staged on two different pitches at the Olympic Hockey Centre in the Helliniko Olympic Complex. The competition will be held over 14 days, from 14 to 27 August. A total of 352 athletes (12 men’s teams and 10 women’s teams) will take part in the 2004 Olympic Games competition.

Learn more on Athens 2004

Official website of Athens 2004
Tags IOC News
back to top