skip to content
13 Sep 2013
IOC News

Highlights of the week


From 7 to 10 September, IOC President Jacques Rogge chaired his final Session in Buenos Aires (Argentina) before bringing an end to his 12-year tenure.

On the first day of the 125th Session, the IOC members elected the host city of the Games of the XXXII Olympiad. The city of Tokyo was chosen over the other two Candidate Cities, Istanbul and Madrid, after two rounds of voting.

The following day, the Session began with the presentation of the gold Olympic Order to King Willem-Alexander of the Netherlands, who was named an IOC honorary member.

The Session then turned its attention to the Olympic programme for the 2020 Games. The IOC members chose the 25 sports that will form the core of the 2020 Games programme. Another important decision was taken that day, when wrestling was chosen as an additional sport for the programme of the 2020 and 2024 Olympic Summer Games.
On 9 September, it was the turn of the Organising Committees of the Olympic Games to submit their reports to the Session. The IOC members therefore noted the final report of the London 2012 Organising Committee (LOCOG), followed by reports on the state of preparations for Sochi 2014, Rio 2016 and PyeongChang 2018. The Organising Committees of the Youth Olympic Games to be held in Nanjing in 2014 and in Lillehammer in 2016 also presented their reports to the Session. 

On 10 September, the 125th IOC Session elected Thomas Bach as the ninth IOC President after two rounds of voting. He saw off his fellow presidential candidates (in alphabetical order) Sergey Bubka, Richard Carrión, Ser Miang Ng, Denis Oswald and Ching-Kuo Wu.

The Session nominated the outgoing President, Jacques Rogge, as IOC Honorary President and saw him receive the gold Olympic Order from his successor as IOC President.

Also on 10 September, the Session elected nine new members: Octavian Morariu (Romania), Bernard Rajzman (Brazil), Mikaela Maria Antonia Cojuangco-Jaworski (Philippines), Alexander Zhukov (Russia), Paul Kibii Tergat (Kenya), Lawrence Probst III (United States), Dagmawit Girmay Berhane (Ethiopia), Camiel Eurlings (Netherlands) and Stefan Holm (Sweden).

As far as the IOC Executive Board is concerned, Anita L. DeFrantz succeeds John Coates, who was himself elected Vice-President in place of Ser Miang Ng, whose term had come to an end.

Meanwhile, Richard Kevan Gosper and Lamine Diack will become IOC honorary members on 1 January 2014. Habib Macki’s term as an IOC member will end on 31 December 2013. The Olympic Order, which Lamine Diack had already received in 1990, was awarded to Richard Kevan Gosper and Habib Macki.


The Executive Board of the International Weightlifting Federation (IWF), meeting in Beijing (People’s Republic of China), decided to create an Anti-Doping Commission, which will be chaired by Patrick Schamasch, former IOC Medical Director. Info at
The International Triathlon Union (ITU) has announced its support of a new winter triathlon format comprising three disciplines: snowshoeing, speed skating and skiing. In association with the Canadian organisation Pentathlon des neiges, the ITU will stage the Quebec ITU Winter Triathlon Event on 8 and 9 March 2014. This event will mark the organisation’s tenth anniversary and the ITU’s first involvement with winter triathlon. Info at


At its first meeting, the Athletes Committee of the NOC of Bahrain proposed that each national sports federation set up its own athletes committee. The committee is chaired by Ruqaya Al Ghasra, member of the NOC’s Executive Board and former sprinter. Other items on the agenda included the allocation of a budget to enable the committee to carry out its programmes, and the definition of the committee’s mission and objectives.

The latest edition of La Voz Olímpica of the NOC of Chile reports on the creation of a Ministry of Sport through a law promulgated by the President of the Republic, Sebastián Piñera, in August. The new ministry’s structure should be in place within a year. Info at

At a ceremony held on 10 September, the President and Vice-President of the NOC of Portugal, José Manuel Constantino and Rosa Mota (1988 Olympic marathon champion) presented the 2013 IOC “150 years, Pierre de Coubertin, sport as a school of life” award to Alfredo Monteiro, the Mayor of Seixal, and to the vice-president of the municipal authority, Joaquim dos Santos. This trophy was awarded in recognition of several decades of work to promote sport by the Seixal municipality, situated in the outskirts of Lisbon, through the Seixalíada association. Over the last 30 years, this association, which involves 16 different sports, has organised numerous sports activities in which more than 200,000 people participate each year. Info at


Meeting in Buenos Aires on 11 September, the Executive Committee of the World Anti-Doping Agency (WADA) took a number of decisions, particularly in relation to the World Anti-Doping Code, new scientific research projects, the development of a network of anti-doping laboratories, the 2014 Prohibited List and the monitoring programme. Info at

The Mayor of London, Boris Johnson, has been presented with the Paralympic Order by the International Paralympic Committee (IPC) in recognition of his support and contribution to the success of the London 2012 Paralympic Games. IPC Governing Board member Rita van Driel presented him with this distinction at the National Paralympic Day celebrations at Queen Elizabeth Park on 7 September, almost one year since the Paralympic Games closed. Info at

Tags IOC News
back to top