skip to content
24 Aug 2012
IOC News

Highlights of the week


Anita L. DeFrantz has been selected as a 2012 Woman of the Year by the City of Los Angeles Commission on the Status of Women.  The award recognises Anita DeFrantz for her trailblazing work in sport and community service.


At its Congress held last week in Plovdiv (Bulgaria), the International Rowing Federation (FISA) awarded the second stage of the 2013 Samsung World Rowing Cup, from 21 to 23 June 2013, to Eton Dorney (Great Britain). Eton Dorney hosted the rowing events for the 2012 Games in London, the World Rowing Cup in 2005, the 2006 World Rowing Championships and the 2011 World Rowing Junior Championships. Read more on

More than 130 swimmers representing 31 countries took part in the inaugural World Junior Open Water Championships, organised by the International Swimming Federation (FINA) from 16 to 19 August in Welland (Ontario, Canada). FINA now organises World Junior Championships in its five aquatic disciplines. More details on
The International Triathlon Union (ITU) has announced the qualification details for the Nanjing 2014 Youth Olympic Games. As for the previous edition in Singapore in 2010, Nanjing 2014 will feature individual sprint distance triathlons for 32 women and 32 men, as well as a mixed relay competition with continental teams. Full details on


The German NOC, whose President is IOC Vice-President Thomas Bach, has informed us that an enthusiastic crowd of some 20,000 people cheered the German Olympic team when it arrived back in Hamburg after a 36-hour cruise on the “MS Deutschland”. Find out more on

On 18 August, the Chilean NOC celebrated Olympic Day. Held at the Olympic Training Centre in Santiago by the NOC’s Sport for All Commission, chaired by Marcella Revilloud, this Day was part of the third Family Sports Event. As well as the traditional run, there were demonstrations of aerobic gymnastics, aikido and kickboxing, as well as competitions in wrestling, weightlifting and “baby fútbol”, plus a tribute to the athletes who took part in the Games in London. Also attending were marathon runner Natalia Romero, shooter Francisca Crovetto, weightlifter María Fernanda Valdés, discus thrower Karen Gallardo, gymnast Simona Castro and wrestler Andrés Ayub. More details on

On 15 August, a reception was held in honour of the Hong Kong Olympic team at the Games in London. On this occasion,  C.Y. Leung, the Chief Executive of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region (HKSAR) Government, and Timothy T.T. Fok, IOC member and President of the Hong Kong NOC, presented certificates of appreciation to the athletes in recognition of their impressive performances, including Lee Wai-sze, who won bronze in the keirin. The other personalities present included NOC Honorary Secretary General Pang Chung, Chef de Mission Vivien C.C. Lau, senior government officials of the HKSAR government and the British Consul-General to Hong Kong and Macau. More details on

The Mongolian NOC has announced that the President of Mongolia, Tsakhia Elbegdorj, has issued a decree whereby Olympic medallists and medal-winners in world championships in Olympic sports will receive a monthly allocation for life. So far, 47 athletes, who have won 24 Olympic and 58 world championship medals, will benefit from this grant, a first in Mongolian sports history. More details on

The sports journalist and Olympic historian, Wolf Lyberg, died on 12 August this year in Stockholm (Sweden). He was 95. Lyberg worked for the Swedish Sports Confederation from 1966 to 1982 in a number of roles, as well as for the Swedish NOC from 1969 to 1988, where he was initially assisted by Gunilla Lindberg, who is now an IOC Executive Board member and NOC Secretary General. After leaving the NOC, Lyberg helped the IOC until 2001. His work included compiling facts and figures on IOC meetings, the IOC Presidents, the Olympic Games and the NOCs. Lyberg received the Olympic Order in 1988 and the Pierre de Coubertin Medal in 2001. More details on

Tags IOC News
back to top