skip to content
29 Oct 2014
PyeongChang 2018 , IOC News

Ground broken on new speed skating rink for PyeongChang 2018

Construction began today on the new speed skating rink for the Olympic Winter Games PyeongChang 2018, which will be located in the Gangneung Coastal Cluster.

Commenting on the groundbreaking, the President of the PyeongChang 2018 Organising Committee (POCOG) Yang-Ho Cho, said: “With today’s groundbreaking, all our competition venue preparations are in full swing, and I am confident that there is good momentum in our progress. POCOG will continue to work closely with the central government and Gangwon Province to deliver an excellent Olympic Winter Games in 2018.”

PyeongChang 2018 will have a total of 13 competition venues – six of which will be new. With the speed skating rink now started, all of the new venues are now under construction. The other five new venues are expected to be completed by November 2016, while the speed skating rink is due to be delivered by January 2017 in time for a test event scheduled the following month.

back to top