skip to content
27 Apr 2004
IOC News

Football: Eleven Men’s Teams already Qualified for Athens

Eleven teams have already qualified for the Men’s Olympic Football Tournament in Athens. The teams that have qualified so far are: Greece, Argentina, Australia, Costa Rica, Japan, Mexico, Ghana, Mali, Morocco, Paraguay and Tunisia.

Waiting for Asia and Europe
In Asia and Europe, the Olympic qualification tournaments are still underway. In Asia, the 12 competing teams have been divided into a final round with three groups of four, where they will play a round-robin tournament with a home and away format. The winner of each group will qualify for Athens 2004. In Europe, the UEFA U-21 Championship finals will take place from 22 May to 8 June 2004. The first three teams in this tournament will qualify for the Olympic Games, together with Greece, the host country.

Five Olympic Cities
During the Athens 2004 Olympic Games, the Men’s and Women’s Football Tournaments will take place in five Olympic cities: Athens, Volos, Heraklio, Thessaloniki and Patras. The matches will run from 11 August, two days before the Opening Ceremony, to 29 August 2004, with both finals being held in Athens. In total, 16 men’s teams will compete for the medals over four rounds of matches (preliminaries, quarter-finals, semi-finals and finals) and 10 women’s teams will fight it out over three rounds (quarter-finals, semi-finals and finals).

Cameroon: Olympic Gold Medallists in Sydney
The 104,098 lucky spectators who crammed into the Olympic stadium at the Games of the XXVII Olympiad in Sydney for the final between Spain and Cameroon saw a match that most would qualify as unforgettable. The name of the Olympic champions was decided on penalties! While the Africans converted all their penalties, the hapless Amaya's shot hit the upright, giving Cameroon victory and a place on the top step of the podium for the first time in Olympic history.

Learn more on Football

FIFA's Official website
Tags IOC News
back to top Fr