skip to content
27 Oct 2005
IOC News

Five candidates for election as IOC members at the 118th Session in Turin

The Executive Board today selected five candidates for election as IOC members. They are:
Beatrice Allen (GAM)                 Vice-President of the Gambia National Olympic Committee
Nicole Hoevertsz (ARU)              Secretary General of the National Olympic Committee of Aruba
HRH Prince Tunku Imran (MAS)  President of the Olympic Council of Malaysia
Francesco Ricci Bitti (ITA)          President of the International Tennis Federation
Hein Verbruggen (NED)              Executive Vice-President of the International Cycling Union
The five candidates will be proposed for election to the 118th IOC Session in Turin in February 2006, which will be the start of their eight-year term of office.
Outgoing members
The IOC currently has 115 members, all of whom were co-opted by the IOC Session by a majority of the votes cast. At the end of the year, the following five members will reach the end of their terms of office.
Fidel Mendoza Carrasquilla (COL)
Tay Wilson (NZL)
Nikos Filaretos (GRE)
Borislav Stankovic (SCG)
Kikis Lazarides (CYP)
Role of IOC members
IOC members are the IOC’s representatives in their respective countries, and not their countries’ delegates within the IOC. They are men and women who have competed in the Olympic Games, are captains of industry or representatives from the worlds of sport and business. They are all volunteers.
 IOC members meet once a year at a general assembly, or Session, the supreme body of the organisation. At these Sessions, the members take decisions concerning the institution and the Olympic Games, such as the choice of host cities of the Games, changes to the Olympic Charter, electing the IOC President, Vice-Presidents and Executive Board members, and co-opting new members.
Tags IOC News
back to top