skip to content
25 Jun 2007
IOC News , 119th Session

Election of the 2014 Host City - Voting membership and regulations

Electronic voting was used for the first time for the election of a host city for the Olympic Games (Games of the XXIX Olympiad in 2008) on 13 July 2001 during the 112th IOC Session in Moscow.
The IOC President elects not to participate in the vote. The vote takes place by secret ballot, so as to ensure that members are not unduly influenced or pressurised. The electoral proceedings take place in a room in which only the IOC members and those persons authorised by the President by reason of their functions are present.
Any IOC members from a country whose city is a candidate in the election must abstain from taking part in rounds as long as the city is still included in the voting.
For 2014 this is as follows: 
Number of IOC members as of June 2007:
IOC President Jacques Rogge:
Nationals from the Russian Federation:
- Vitaly Smirnov
- Shamil Tarpischev
- Alexander Popov
Nationals from Austria:
- Leo Wallner
Nationals from Germany:
- Thomas Bach
- Walther Tröger
Nationals from the Republic of Korea:
- Kun Hee Lee
- Yong Sun Park
Excused members
- Nawaf Faisal Fahd Abdulaziz (Saudi Arabia)
- Barbara Kendall (New Zealand)
- Nora de Liechtenstein
- Randhir Singh (India)
- Pernilla Wiberg (Sweden)
Number of members eligible to vote in the first round:
* According to the Olympic Charter, German members must refrain from taking part in the vote because one sport facility in the bid file of Salzburg is located in Germany
- In the event of a second round of voting, nationals from the country of the city which has been eliminated because it received the least number of votes CAN VOTE.
- The Honorary President, and Honorary and Honour members DO NOT vote.
Current IOC Members by continent
In each round; each participating IOC member may vote for only one city. The votes of members not taking part in a round of voting or who abstain, as well as blank or spoilt electronic voting entries, are not taken into account in the calculation of the required majority. 
If, after the first round of voting, no city obtains the absolute majority of the votes cast, as many rounds are held as necessary for a city to obtain such majority. 
The city receiving the least number of votes is eliminated after each round. The name of the city is made public straight away and the vote continues. 
If only two cities remain in contention, the one that obtains the greatest number of votes is declared elected.
back to top