skip to content
11 Aug 2004
IOC News

Election of an IOC Vice-President

Gunilla Lindberg (Sweden) was elected today at the 116th IOC session as Vice-President of the IOC. In addition two new members were elected to the Executive Board (EB): Zaiqing Yu (People's Republic of China) and Richard L. Carrión (Puerto Rico). IOC member Thomas Bach (Germany) came to the end of his mandate as first Vice-President and Franco Carraro (Italy) as member.

Re-election of four other members of the EB
Have been relected as members of the EB: Denis Oswald (Switzerland), Mario Vázquez Raña (Mexico), Ottavio Cinquanta (Italy) and Sergey Bubka (Ukraine).

The Executive Board
Of the 123 members, it is those on the Executive Board who, along with the President, are assigned the task of overseeing the administrative affairs of the IOC. Originally created in 1921, the composition of the Executive Board includes the President, four Vice-Presidents and 10 other members. All the members of the Executive Board are elected by the Session, by secret ballot, by a majority of votes cast, for a four-year term.

Learn more on Athens 2004

Official website of Athens 2004
Tags IOC News
back to top