skip to content
05 Feb 2002
IOC News , Press Release

Eight NOCs/Cities express interest in hosting the XXI Olympic Winter Games in 2010

The Executive Board of the International Olympic Committee (IOC) today approved the list of the eight NOCs/cities that have submitted their application to host the XXI Olympic Winter Games in 2010. The eight cities, in alphabetical order, are: Andorra La Vella (Andorra), Bern (Switzerland), Harbin (People's Republic of China), Jaca (Spain), Pyeongchang (Korea), Salzburg (Austria), Sarajevo (Bosnia and Herzegovina) and Vancouver (Canada).

National Olympic Committees (NOCs) had until 4 February 2002, to notify the IOC that a city within their jurisdiction was interested to apply.

Interested cities will have to go through a bid acceptance procedure to review their organizational capacity. No city will become a candidate until it is selected as such by the IOC Executive Board during its meeting on 28-29 August 2002.

The eight applicant cities will be present as observers in Salt Lake City. They will meet with the IOC administration for a preliminary information session on 10 February and take part in various venue tours during the Games.

After being accepted as candidates in August 2002, cities would then be required to submit their candidature file and prepare for the visit of the IOC Evaluation Commission.

The host city of the XXI Olympic Winter Games in 2010 will be elected on 2 July 2003 in Prague.
back to top