skip to content
25 Sep 2012
IOC News

Claudia Bokel to chair Working Group for 3rd Summer Youth Olympic Games in 2018

The President of the International Olympic Committee (IOC), Jacques Rogge, today announced the composition of the Working Group which will assess the six candidatures for the third edition of the Summer Youth Olympic Games (YOG) in 2018.

The six cities applying to host the 2018 YOG are: Buenos Aires (ARG), Glasgow (GBR), Guadalajara (MEX), Medellin (COL), Poznan (POL) and Rotterdam (NED)*.

The IOC Working Group will be chaired by Olympic silver medallist and world champion fencer Claudia Bokel. The German athlete is also an IOC member and Chairperson of the IOC Athletes’ Commission. The Working Group will comprise a National Olympic Committee representative, Guido de Bondt, Secretary General, Belgian NOC; a representative from the International Federations, Andrew Ryan, Director, ASOIF; an athlete representative, Yumilka Ruiz Luaces, IOC member, IOC Athletes’ Commission member, Olympic volleyball champion; and Gilbert Felli, Olympic Games Executive Director; who will be joined by IOC representatives Christophe Dubi, Sports Director; Antoine Goetschy, Head of YOG Coordination; Patrick Stalder, Head of Creative Services and CEP; and Toshio Tsurunaga, NOC Relations Programme Manager.

Together they will analyse each city’s candidature file, which will be received by the IOC by the 15 October 2012 deadline. The Working Group will then submit a report to the IOC Executive Board, which will identify which YOG 2018 candidate cities will be shortlisted for further evaluation at its meeting in Lausanne on 12-13 February 2013. Following further assessment and video conferences with each shortlisted candidate city, a report shall be submitted to the IOC members, who will then elect the host city at their meeting in Lausanne, Switzerland, on 4 July 2013.
* Candidate cities in alphabetical order

Tags IOC News
back to top