skip to content
10 Oct 2007
IOC News , Beijing 2008

Beijing 2008: seven women’s basketball teams book their place

Following the EuroBasket Women 2007, seven teams have already booked their place in the Olympic basketball tournament in Beijing. The Russian women’s team imitated their male compatriots by taking the European title in Chieti, Italy, and will compete in the 2008 Games. The team from Spain, which won the silver – like the men – and the bronze-medal-winning team from Belarus can still earn an Olympic passport if they do well at the World Olympic Qualifying Tournament, as can Latvia and the Czech Republic, who finished fourth and fifth respectively in the EuroBasket 2007.
Seven out of 12 qualified
The People’s Republic of China, as the host nation, and Australia as the 2006 FIBA World Champion, have qualified directly, while five other countries have qualified through the continental championships: Mali (Africa), United States of America (Americas), Republic of Korea (Asia), Russian Federation (Europe) and New Zealand (Oceania).
World Olympic Qualifying Tournament
The best-placed non-qualified teams for the Olympic Games from the five zones are entitled to participate in the World Olympic Qualifying Tournament, which will be played from 9 to 15 June 2008 in a place to be determined and will decide the final five berths for Beijing 2008. It will be a 12-team tournament which will feature two participants from Africa (Angola and Senegal), three from the Americas (Argentina, Brazil and Cuba), two from Asia (Japan and Chinese Taipei), four from Europe (Belarus, Spain, Latvia and Czech Republic) and one from Oceania (Fiji).
After the USA, who?
In Athens in 2004, the US team took the gold in the Olympic women’s basketball tournament. Which team will succeed them in Beijing? See you on 24 August 2008 at the Wukesong stadium to find out...

International Basketball Federation
back to top Fr