skip to content
11 Aug 2004
IOC News , The athlete commission

Athletes’ Commission election: voting offices open today

Today the Athletes’ Commission launched its election for new members. Four of the 30 candidates will be elected by vote and will become both members of the Athletes' Commission and the IOC for a term of eight years.

31 candidates
A total of 30 athletes, representing as many countries, are running for election to the IOC Athletes' Commission. Only NOCs which have an athletes’ commission could propose a candidate. In order to be eligible, candidates must have taken part in the Sydney or Athens Games and must never have been found guilty of a doping offence during their sports career.

Commission with 19 members
The Athletes’ Commission is composed of 19 members, of which there are: eight summer sports athletes elected by their peers during the Games of the Olympiad; four winter sports athletes elected by their peers during the Olympic Winter Games; and seven athletes appointed by the IOC President to ensure a balance in terms of gender, sport and region. In addition, a World Olympians Association’s representative and an International Paralympic Committee representative are ex officio members

All candidates (in alphabetical order)
Haya Bint Al Hussein, Equestrian, Jordan; Michiel Bartman, Rowing, Netherlands; Dejan Bodiroga, Basketball, Serbia Montenegro; Francisco Boza, Shooting, Peru; Stephan Buckland, Athletics, Mauritius; Szilveszter Csollány, Gymnastics, Hungary; Monica Del Real Jaime, Taekwondo, Mexico; David Douillet, Judo, France; Hicham El Guerrouj, Athletics, Morocco; Rania Elwani, Swimming, Egypt; Carlos Espinola, Sailing, Argentina; Manuel Estiarte, Water Polo, Spain; Victor A. Feddersen, Rowing, Denmark; Susana Feitor, Athletics, Portugal; Frank Fredericks, Athletics, Namibia; Gianna Hablützel-Bürki, Fencing, Switzerland; Karina Habsudova, Tennis, Slovakia; Chih-Hsiung Huang, Taekwondo, Chinese Taipei; Daniel Igali, Wrestling, Canada; Robert Korzeniowski, Athletics, Poland; Mireya A. Luis Hernández, Volleyball, Cuba; Stavros Michaelides, Swimming, Cyprus; Erki Nool, Athletics, Estonia;
Jefferson Perez, Athletics, Ecuador; Matthew Pinsent, Rowing, Great Britain; Hadi Saei Baneh Kohal, Taekwondo, Islamic Republic of Iran; Jean-Michel Saive, Table tennis, Belgium; Florian Schwarthoff, Athletics, Germany; Marius Daniel Urzica, Gymnastics, Romania; Jan Zelezny, Athletics, Czech Republic.

Results on 26 August 2004
The election is being held between 11 and 25 August, and the results of the vote will be announced at 2 p.m. on 26 August in the "Amphitheatre" of the international zone of the Olympic Village.

The new members will be officially introduced during the Closing Ceremony of the Games of the XXVIII Olympiad in Athens.

*Information current to 22 June 2004
- Konstantinos Kenteris no longer candidate
- Sureyya Ayhan no longer candidate
back to top