skip to content
03 Mar 2004
IOC News

ATHENS 2004: Final four qualify for women's Olympic water polo tournament

Hungary, Italy, Russia, and Canada are the final four teams to qualify for the Women’s Water Polo Olympic Tournament that will take place in Athens this year. A 10-team qualifying tournament held in Imperia (Italy) saw Hungary defeat Italy 6-4 in the final, and Russia beat Canada 9-5 in the bronze medal match. The unlucky teams were Spain, Germany, the Netherlands, Brazil, New Zealand and the Czech Republic.

Draw for the Olympic Tournament
The top four from this tournament joined Greece, Australia, Kazakhstan and the USA in the draw for the Olympic Tournament that will take place in Athens from 16 to 26 August 2004. The draw saw Greece, Australia, Italy and Kazakhstan together in Group A, and Russia, the USA, Hungary and Canada pooled in Group B.

Two groups
The groups will be disputed on the basis of a single round robin, with the group winners qualifying directly for the semi-finals. The second and third placed sides will then dispute a quarter-final round to decide which of them will progress to the next stage, where the group winners will await them.

First time in Sydney in 2000
Women’s water polo was included in the competition programme of the Olympic Games for the first time at the Sydney Games in 2000.

Olympic Aquatic Centre
For the first time in Olympic Games history, all the aquatics events will take place in a single venue, the Olympic Aquatics Centre of the Athens Olympic Sports Complex (OAKA). The aquatics programme spans all 16 days of the Games (14 to 29 August 2004). Swimming starts off the programme, followed by diving, water polo and synchronised swimming.

Learn more on Water polo

Official website of the International Swiming Federation

Official website of Athens 2004
Tags IOC News
back to top Fr