skip to content
20 Feb 2004
IOC News

Athens 2004: 14th diving world cup

The 14th FINA Diving World Cup is currently being held in Athens at the Olympic Aquatic Centre in OAKA. This top-level competition will allow the athletes to test the newly renovated indoor pool and ATHOC to learn and better prepare for the Games.

213 Athletes from 49 Nations
Two hundred and thirteen athletes from 49 nations are participating in the FINA Diving World Cup, which runs from 18-22 February 2004. The event includes both individual and team competitions for both men and women.

Individual Competition Format
The 3m springboard and 10m platform events in the individual category will be held according to FINA Rule D 2.2. This is the Olympic format, with the preliminary competition comprising dives with a free degree of difficulty; the semi-finals for 18 divers comprising dives with a limited degree of difficulty; and the final for 12 divers comprising dives with a free degree of difficulty.

Team Competition Format
The synchronised diving will be held according to FINA Rule D 3.4 with the preliminary competition and a final for the 12 best teams. If the host federation fails to qualify in the top 12, then it will be allowed to participate in the final as team number 13.

Learn more on Diving

Official website of FINA

Learn more on Athens 2004

Official website of Athens 2004
Tags IOC News
back to top