skip to content
30 Jun 2006
IOC News

An exhibition to mark the 25th anniversary of the Prince of Asturias Awards

The Olympic Dreams exhibition, designed by the Olympic Museum and presented by the Prince of Asturias Foundation, will be opened on Sunday 2 July at the Revillagigedo Palace in Gijón.
This prestigious exhibition forms part of the events to commemorate the 25th anniversary of the Prince of Asturias Awards. It retraces the history of the Olympic Games from their origin to the present day, describes the Summer and Winter Games and the forthcoming Games, presents various collections of Olympic objects and has a chapter devoted to the athletes who have been received the Prince of Asturias Award for Sport.
Prince of Asturias Foundation
The Prince of Asturias Awards were created in 1980 at Oviedo by HRH the Prince of Asturias, the Crown Prince of Spain. Their chief goals are to contribute to promoting scientific, cultural, sporting and humanitarian values. Each year several awards are presented: for International Cooperation, Communication and Humanities, Arts, Letters, Social Sciences, Scientific and Technical Research, Concord and Sport.
Prince of Asturias Sports Award
The Prince of Asturias Award for Sport is “bestowed upon the person, persons or institution whose lives and works are not only examples to others, but who have also contributed to the promotion or dissemination of sport”. Laureates include Juan Antonio Samaranch, Sergey Bubka, Carl Lewis, Steffi Graf, Hassiba Boulmerka, Hicham el Guerrouj and Fernando Alonso.
Tags IOC News
back to top