skip to content
30 Jan 2012
Olympic Studies Centre

2012 academic research grants

In the framework of its Postgraduate Research Grant Programme, the IOC Olympic Studies Centre (OSC) has chosen seven research projects for their academic quality and for their potential for developing the Olympic Movement.

The 2012 winners

The chosen academics will benefit from a grant which will allow them to carry out their research project and if relevant, to consult the OSC’s resources in Lausanne (unique collections of more than one million archived documents, publications, official reports, photos and film archival material). The results of their research should be published at the end of the year. The seven candidates/research teams selected and their chosen projects are:

  • Arianne Carvalhedo Dias dos Reis (Southern Cross University, Australia) and Fabiana Rodrigues de Sousa Mast (Basel University, Switzerland):”The sport and physical activity legacy of the Olympic Games for youth of low social economic classes in Rio de Janeiro”.
  • Simon Darnell (Durham University, United Kingdom):”The Olympic Movement and the development of global citizenship education policy”.
  • Sunghee Park (University of Stirling, United Kingdom):”Influence of the entourage in developing athletes’ readiness for career transition out of sport”.
  • Byron Peacock (Dalhousie University, Canada):”International Olympic Committee resistance to political interference from governments and state officials”. (Historical perspective based on the OG of 1900 Paris, 1936 Berlin and 1976 Montreal)
  • Martin Schnitzer (University of Innsbruck, Austria): ”Evaluation of the innovative elements of the YOG 2012 sports programme with particular emphasis on spectators and media”.
  • Gabriel Silvestre (King’s College London, United Kingdom):”An Olympic city in the making: Rio de Janeiro mega-event strategy 1996 – 2016”.
  • Sarah Jane Teetzel (University of Manitoba, Canada):” A philosophic analysis of Olympic entourages: Views from the perspective of fairness, justice and Olympism”. 
34 applications from 21 countries 

This year, 34 candidature files were submitted from 21 countries, addressing a variety of themes concerning mainly the athletes, the legacy of the Olympic Games, the history and international relations of the Olympic Movement, sport as a tool for human development, Olympic education and young people.

Who chooses?

The winners were selected by a committee comprising academic experts renowned for the quality of their research linked to Olympism and/or their involvement in Olympic studies. The selection committee for the 2012 edition of the programme comprised the following members: Gudrun Doll-Tepper (Freie Universität Berlin, Germany), Beatriz García (University of Liverpool, Great Britain), Ian Henry (Loughborough University, Great Britain), Bruce Kidd (University of Toronto, Canada), Françoise Papa (Université Stendhal Grenoble 3, France), Kristine Toohey (Griffith University Gold Coast, Australia), Cesar Torres (State University of New York, United States) as well as Maria Bogner (Head of the IOC Olympic Studies Centre), Nuria Puig (Head of University Relations - OSC), and OSC representatives.

back to top